Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, Maroubra, August 10, 2002

Local Rider Wins State Time Trial Medal

By Tony Horneman

Click for larger image
U19 NSW ITT Champ
Photo: © Tony Horneman

Randwick Botany U19 junior rider Shaun Higgerson won the NSW U19 40km Individual Time Trial held at Calga, north of Sydney, on Sunday 11 August 2002. This win is a goal Higgerson has aimed for over the past 12 months and he is delighted with the result.

In club racing, seven elite A-Grade riders lined up for the 36km criterium race around the 2km Heffron Park circuit on Saturday 10 August 2002 in perfect riding conditions. Randwick Botany U17 rider Robert Cater entertained the spectators with a 100m breakaway in lap 4 and again with 2 to go. Jerzy Sowa from the T.K. Masters Gizycko club in Poland showed some fighting spirit with a breakaway mid-way through the race. They were all back together for the final showdown that saw a closely fought sprint to the line. Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello) crossed first in a time of 55.22 and an average speed of just under 40km/h. Second was Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs) with Randwick Botany’s Matthew Lucas third in his first placing as an A-Grade rider.

A steady 36km/h average speed was set in the thirteen-rider B-Grade race over 32km. Final placings were Gary Oliver (Manly Warringah) 53.55, Shaun Bloch (Randwick Botany) and Alex Simmons (Sydney).

A large C Grade field (23 riders) raced for 28km and set a slightly higher average speed of 36.4kph, when compared with B-Grade. Randwick Botany rider Wayne Goold and Matthew Tabone made separate breakaways during the race, however in the final test in the final sprint, Frank Conceicao from the Eastern Suburbs club proved too strong winning in a time of 46.35. Matthew Cordery (Southern Offroad MTB) was second with Randwick Botany’s Keegan Aitchison third. Tony Caruana and Wayne Goold just missed out on a place.

The D-Grade race featured some good performances from first time riders. Victoria McNeill from the Sydney club lined up for the first time with 22 other riders for a 20km race. McNeill rode strongly finishing just off the back of the bunch. In the final sprint Andrew Price also from the Sydney club won in a time of 35min 46sec and an average speed of 33.9km/h. Randwick Botany’s Janelle Lindsay stormed home to take second place with Roy O’Toole third. The E-Grade event was over 14km and was won by Kevin Blanchfield.

Click for larger image
The usual A-grade suspects
Photo: © Tony Horneman

Seven junior events where conducted earlier in the day. Liam Fletcher recorded a time of 24min 45sec in the U19 Time Trial over 10km. U17 Thomas Murdoch’s time was 18min 18sec after 10km. U15 8km Time Trial results where Andrew Young, 14.15; Mark Woodhouse, 15.00; Tyron Bicknall, 15.06; Charlotte Cotes, 15.56. U13 Luke Davison from the Southern Cross club recorded a time of 11min 56sec after 6km. In the U11 Time Trial over 6km, Andriano Maradini’s time was 13.17.

New member, ten-year-old rider Sam Buckland, riding a borrowed club racing bike, in his first 1km time trial, recorded a very good time of 4min 39sec.

Placings in the 8km Junior Handicap race were Andriano Maradini, Sam Buckland and Andrew Young.

Commissaire, Joanne Buckton named Janelle Lindsay as the Eastside Radio 89.7FM / Wooly Wheels - Rider of the Week, for her performance in the D Grade race and final sprint to score second place.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted)
A Grade 36km
1 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello) 55.22, 39.4kph
2 Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Matthew Lucas
B Grade, 32km
1 Gary Oliver (Manly Warringah) 53.55, 36.0kph
2 Shaun Bloch
3 Alex Simmons (Sydney)
C Grade, 28km
1 Frank Conceicao, (Eastern Suburbs) 46.35, 36.4kph
2 Matthew Cordery (Southern Off-Road MTB Club)
3 Keegan Aitchison
D Grade, 20km
1 Andrew Price (Sydney) 35.46, 33.9kph
2 Janelle Lindsay
3 Roy O’Toole
E Grade, 14 km
1 Kevin Blanchfield, 44.38, 19kph
U19 Time Trial 10km
1 Liam Fletcher, 24.45
U17 Time Trail 10km
1 Thomas Murdoch, 18.18
U15 Time Trial 8km
1 Andrew Young, 14.15
2 Mark Woodhouse, 15.00
3 Tyron Bicknall, 15.06
4 Charlotte Cotes, 15.56
U13 Time Trail 6km
1 Luke Davison (Southern Cross) 11.56
U11 Time Trial 6km
1 Andriano Maradini, 13.17
U11 Time Trial 1km
1 Sam Buckland, 4.39
8km handicap
1 Andriano Maradini
2 Sam Buckland
3 Andrew Young

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC - August 3
Murwillumbah CC - August 4
Randwick Botany CC Junior Carnival


Complete Australian results for 2002