Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

West Dapto, August 3, 2002

Heavens open up

Adam Hotchkis and Jason Johnson almost pulled off the quinella in the 56km handicap last Saturday. Having finished first and second in the same race last year they finished in third and forth place only forty seconds behind the winner Andrew Stewart.

The race started off in overcast but reasonable conditions but ended in the middle of the storm that came through. Strong winds and driving rain lashed the riders for the last 4km of the race. Stewart attacked just as the rain started along with Mitchell Pearson. The two dangled off the front of the ten rider strong chasing bunch all the way to the finish.

Over the last few kilometres the lions share of the work was done by Stuart Binns, with Garry Doughty swapping off a few turns. Stewart won the sprint from Pearson. Doughty started the bunch sprint but was unable to hold off Hotchkis and Johnson. Jeff Gray and Tony Pulo rounded out the top seven.

Six of the top ten came from the 6 minute bunch, that had been able to chase down all infront of them and stay away from the pursuers. Their good performance was due to the excellent team riding from all in the bunch, Gray, Adrian Cooper, Austin Pitman, Dave Russel, Gray, Doughty, Pearson and Stewart. Unfortunately Neil Midgley who had started with them and contributed strongly had a mechanical and had to pull out.

Half way through the race the block bunch was holding time on the scratch riders. Mark Davis, Frank Tortorici, Dylan Forbes, Josh Wall, Mark Duggan and Rodney Harding were working well together. As the race progressed the scratch riders of Adam Rourke, Paul Forrest, Graham Rutter and Luke Dale asserted their dominance and started to pull back the block bunch. At the end of the race they had put 1:35 into the block bunch.

On the approach to the finish Rourke and Rutter pulled away from the other riders and crossed the line for first and second fastest in the order. Rourke’s time was 1:26:44 almost 2 minutes slower than Brendan Cato’s fastest time last year.

There is no local race next week as the riders will be participating in the Nowra leg of the Interclub series.

Results, 54km handicap

1 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
2 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)
3 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
4 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
5 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)
6 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
7 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
8 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
9 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
10 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
11 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
12 Paul Weidersehn (Illawarra)
13 Mick Shannon (Illawarra)
14 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
15 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
16 Rodney  Harding
17 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
18 Mark Duggan (Illawarra)
19 David Russel (Illawarra)
20 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
21 Fiona Campbell (Cootamundra)
22 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
23 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
24 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
25 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)
26 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)
27 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)
28 Paul Forrest (Canberra)
29 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)
30 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)
31 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)
32 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
33 Mark Scott (Illawarra)
34 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)
35 Marco Ciccarelli
36 Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)
Fastest time - Adam Rourke (Illawarra): 1.26.44 

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC - August 3
Murwillumbah CC - August 4
Randwick Botany CC Junior Carnival


Complete Australian results for 2002