Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Murwillumbah Cycle Club

August 4, 2002

126 riders celebrate new section of highway

Report by Phil Ruge

A special road race was held in conjunction with the GoldStars Cycling Club on Sunday 4 August 2002 to celebrate the official opening of the new Chinderah to Yelgun section of the Pacific Highway. The race started at Chinderah and travelled approximately 27 kilometres to Yelgun before turning to finish back at the Chinderah end of the new highway. Whilst the road surface was excellent persistent head winds in both directions and a number of hills over the southern portion of the highway tested both the riders legs and resolve to complete the course!

A total of 126 riders were divided into five grades for the race with each grade racing separately. The standard of racing was quite high with all riders enjoying this unique course.


A Grade, 54km
1 A. Tully (Balmoral)             1.23 (39 km/h)
2 S. Storer (GoldStars)
3 B. Payne (CATS)
4 D. Heathcote (GoldStars)
5 J. Kane (Murwillumbah)
6 C. Selden (GoldStars)
7 J. Austin (Flight Centre)
B Grade, 54km
1 J. Collier (Murwillumbah)       1.25 (38 km/h)
2 M. Wood (Kangaroo Point)
3 T. Sunderland (Murwillumbah)
4 S. Whittle (Bendigo)
5 M. Wakeman (GoldStars)
6 W. Hubac (CATS)
C Grade, 54km
1 L. Smith (murwillumbah)         1.30 (36 km/h)
2 G. Bartle (Murwillumbah)
3 M. Alatalo (CATS)
4 T. Beck (Murwillumbah)
5 S. Ellick (Murwillumbah)
6 S. Brims (CATS)
7 M. McCall (murwillumbah)
First female rider - S. Bury (Murwillumbah) 
D Grade, 54km
1 D. Brown (Murwillumbah)         1.35 (34.2 km/h)
2 F. Schirmer (Murwillumbah)
3 P. McMahon (Murwillumbah)
4 K. Smith (CATS)
5 S. Williams (CATS)
6 R. Payne (CATS)
7 P. Ruge (Murwillumbah)
First female rider - C. Smith (CATS)
E Grade
1 S. James (Murwillumbah)         1.02 (31 km/h)
2 T Brennan (GoldStars)
3 D. Burns (Murwillumbah)
4 V. Nucifora (CATS)
5 M. King (Murwillumbah) - first female rider 
6 R. Gillies (Murwillumbah)
7 E. Hall (GoldStars)

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC - August 3
Murwillumbah CC - August 4
Randwick Botany CC Junior Carnival


Complete Australian results for 2002