17,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>18,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>150); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>19,'min'=>40, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  



Races & Results

Wachovia Invitational
Wachovia Classic
Liberty Classic
USPRO Champs
Live coverage


Petra Rossner interview
2003 Nicole Reinhart Classic

2002 results

Upland Sports Group, Inc
First Endurance
Verge Sport

Wachovia Cycling Series

USA, June 3-8, 2003

Results     Past winners

Wachovia Invitational - June 3: Lancaster, PA, 146km - 13 laps of 11.5km

Umbrellas aplenty on a rain-soaked day
Photo: © Jonathan Devich
Click for larger image

Piil & CSC storm to win on a rainy day in Lancaster

By Tim Maloney in Lancaster, PA

CSC's Jakob Storm Piil pounded out a solo win today in Lancaster after his strong squad gave a whuppin' to the other teams at the first race of the Wachovia Cycling Series. Piil won here four years ago riding for Acceptcard as a relatively unknown track rider, but since then, the quiet Dane has won not only the First Union Classic that same year, but the prestigious Peace Race and the 2002 World Cup Classic Paris-Tours.

Piil rode away from his seven break companions with two laps to go to win with a margin of over a minute.

"I tried to make the right move, but when I made my move, I didn't feel super so I thought I had to get ahead of the race," said Piil. "But I think everybody [in the break] felt the same as me. This race is so damn hard; you have to go maximum force from the start so you can feel very bad but still win."

Piil's CSC teammate Julian Dean was third, but the rapid Kiwi had a close call in the sprint for second with Saturn's mark McCormack. An angry Dean told Cyclingnews, "McCormack came across my front wheel and took it out with 150m to go. It was an unprofessional move because he knew I was coming around him and it was the only thing he could do." Dean's front wheel lost nine spokes in the incident, but due to the difficult weather conditions that made for poor viewing, the officials left the standings alone.

Fortune favoured the brave
Photo: © Jonathan Devich
Click for larger image

US Postal's Matt White showed the talent today that got the Sydneysider a spot on Postal in the first place and it looked like his exclusion from USPS's Tour long team had perhaps provided the Aussie an extra edge. But Whitey, always the team player, disabused Cyclingnews of that notion, saying, "No, I'm here to win bike races; I've got good legs at the moment so I'm gonna use them."

Last year's Lancaster winner David Clinger and his Prime Alliance team tried hard today, but sickness had slowed the Thousand Oaks, CA. rider down, and he was eighth at 3:19. Post-race, Clinger told Cyclingnews, "I was sick Monday and got depleted from that so I didn't feel great today, but hopefully I'll come around [for Sunday's USPRO championship]."

Right with Clinger in ninth was Chris Horner (Saturn), who said, "it was an epic day today; unbelievable, definitely the hardest day I've raced probably the last three years! [Saturn] were totally outnumbered by CSC. Yeah, we had some numbers but it was the wrong guys at the wrong time. Nathan [O'Neill] was tired from being up the road, and with four laps to go, the key break just went."

US Postal's Michael Barry was runner-up to Piil in 1999, when the duo broke away in the last, rainy laps at Lancaster and both crashed (Piil twice) on the greasy roads. Barry was 12th today. Just back from Europe, Barry told Cyclingnews, "I felt really good today, but tactically at the end it didn't really work out for us. Whitey was up there, but it would have been better if we had two more guys up there at least."

Barry was optimistic for Sunday's USPRO Championship, as was Henk Vogels of Navigators, who abandoned today. "I just got back from Australia and have a bit of a cold, but I'm getting better," said Vogels. Barry went on to compliment Piil, saying "he looked good today; Piil did a lot of attacking today. He's a really classy rider who's super smooth on his bike even when he's suffering." Navigators got Oleg Grishkine in the third group for 11th today, but they and all the domestic teams were just outgunned by the firepower from CSC in Lancaster.


Images by Jonathan Devich/www.wachoviacycling.com

Images by Michael Doupe/RedRoseRaces.com

Images by CQUAD.com


1 Jakob Piil (Den) Team CSC                                 3.23.42 (43.00km/h)
2 Mark McCormack (USA) Saturn Cycling Team                     1.18
3 Julian Dean (NZl) Team CSC	
4 Matthew White (Aus) US Postal presented by Berry Floor	
5 John Lieswyn (USA) 7UP / Maxxis	
6 Uros Murn (Slo) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiavé	
7 Geert Van Brondt (Bel) Team CSC	
8 David Clinger (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team              3.19
9 Chris Horner (USA) Saturn Cycling Team	
10 Jimmi Madsen (Den) Team CSC                                 3.53
11 Oleg Grishkine (Rus) Navigators Cycling Team 	
12 Michael Barry (Can) US Postal presented by Berry Floor	
13 Danny Pate (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team	
14 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) US Postal presented by Berry Floor	
15 Viktor Rapikski (Blr) Saturn Cycling Team                   5.49
16 Charles Dionne (Can) Saturn Cycling Team	
17 Adam Livingston (USA) Schroeder Iron Cycling Team           7.13
18 Matt Dubberley (USA) Sierra Nevada-Clif Bar                10.16
19 Alan Iacuone (Aus) Flanders-IteamNova.com                  10.21
20 Jeff Louder (USA) Navigators Cycling Team 	
21 Christopher Baldwin (USA) Navigators Cycling Team          13.09
22 Ciaran Power (Irl) Navigators Cycling Team 	
23 Troy White (USA) Sierra Nevada-Clif Bar	

Past Winners

2002 David Clinger (USA) U.S. Postal Service 147.5 kms in 3.18.52 (44.35 km/h)
2001 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Mercury Viatel       147.5 kms in 3.20.13
2000 Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn Cycling Team  147.5 kms in 3.21.04
1999 Jacob Piil (Den) Acceptcard             147.5 kms in 3.19.42
1998 Frankie Andreu (USA) US Postal Service  147.5 kms in 3.23.17
1997 Chan McCrae (USA)                       147.5 kms in 3.22.15
1996 Chris Horner (USA)
1995 Fred Rodriguez (USA)
1994 Andrea Peron (Ita)
1993 Arvis Piziks (Lat)
1992 Roberto Pelliconi (Ita)

back to top