Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Images    Feedback 


Past Winners

Stages & Results




Sea Otter road races


2001 results


Sea Otter Classic - D2

Monterey, California, USA, March 21 - 24, 2002

2001 Results    Preview   Past winners


Sea Otter is the de facto season-opener for the US MTB circuit, the first chance to see who has good legs in the early season and who doesn't. As founder Rick Sutton puts it, "The Sea Otter is a season-opening event that offers an opportunity for young talent to test legs against the best in the world. [Across road and MTB] we have 50,000 spectators, 8,000 participants, 200 reporters, and 250 companies and OLN-TV airing eight hours of Otter-mania. And that happens to be in California in March," said Sutton.

The program is a packed one, with a four-stage cross-country race, plus downhill, dual slalom and four-cross events. And if that's not enough to keep riders (and journalists!) busy, there's the Iron Otter, a unique cross-over event that puts mountain bikers in the road races and roadies on dirt.

"The whole Giant team is planning to do the Iron Otter. I can't wait to see how Bart Brentjens goes on skinny tires," said Sutton. The Olympic gold medallist will be looking to repeat his win here last year, and with other previous winners Bas Van Dooren and Cadel Evans now racing the road, the most likely competition for Sir Bart comes from Roland Green who has been showing strongly in early season road races.

Past winners

     Men                                  Women
2001 Bart Brentjens (Ned) Giant           Caroline Alexander (GBr) (Specialized)
2000 Bas Van Dooren (Ned) Be-One          Laurence Leboucher (Fra) GT
1999 Cadel Evans (Aus) Volvo/Cannondale   Alison Dunlap (USA) GT
1998 Cadel Evans (Aus) Volvo/Cannondale

back to top