12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  


Medal Tally


Men's IP
Women's TT
Men's TT
Men's Scratch
Women's IP
Men's Team Sprint
Men's Team Pursuit
Men's Points Race
Women's Points Race
Women's Sprint
Women's Scratch
Men's Madison
Men's Sprint



2001 WTC


Competitive Cyclist
Velo Europa


World Track Championships - CM

Copenhagen, Denmark, September 25 - 29, 2002

Event program and results

Men's 1km time trial

Hoy storms to kilo gold by ultra-thin margin

Photo©: AFP
Click for larger image

The rebirth of British track cycling continued in Copenhagen last night as Chris Hoy won gold in the 1000m time trial by the narrowest of margins, defeating French world record holder Arnaud Tournant by just one thousandth of a second to record a winning time of 1.01.893. Australian kilo specialist Shane Kelly was third in 1.02.128.

Kelly was eighth starter of the 24 competitors and posted a sea-level personal best, then had to wait to see if the remaining riders, including Hoy and Tournant, would beat his mark.

Kelly held the top spot until only five riders remained and Hoy stormed into the lead. Then it was Hoy's turn to endure the waiting game. Would multiple champion Tournant repeat his previous successes?

Photo©: AFP
Click for larger image

The Frenchman started well but in the final fifty metres was visibly struggling and crossed the line one thousandth of a second, or 1.5cm, behind Hoy to take the silver medal. Tournant collapsed from the effort ten minutes after his ride and did not attend the post race media conference or give any comment to the French or international media.

Hoy showed strong form earlier this year when he won Commonwealth Games gold, and said he was less nervous in Copenhagen despite the nominally higher standard of competition.

Hoy told the Reuters news agency, "I think I did a perfect ride. At the Commonwealth Games I was a bit nervous because of the all build up but here I was relaxed and focused. I'd visualised every part of my ride in my mind and it all went to plan.

"I've proved Tournant is beatable and it's a good feeling. He did a good ride but I noticed that he was struggling on the final lap."

For bronze medalist Kelly, this was his first international kilometre competition since claiming bronze at the Sydney Olympics. Since then he has been plagued with injury and illness: nine months of treatment for deep vein thrombosis in 2001 was followed by a crash and a dislocated shoulder at the Australian titles in April that ended his preparation for the Commonwealth Games.

Photo©: AFP
Click for larger image

Nevertheless, Kelly is philosophical. "You know my Dad (Colin) always said to me from the time I was a little bloke that if something goes wrong or you have a bad race it's not the end of the world," he said of the run of bad luck that has plagued him since the mid-90's. "You have to focus on the next goal and as Dad says 'get over it and get on with it' and that's the way I live life."

Kelly dedicated his bronze medal ride to Marie Carroll, his number one fan in his home town of Ararat, Victoria, who died this week from cancer.


Images by AFP

Images by Mike Gladu/www.velodrome.com


1 Chris Hoy (GBr)                         1.01.893 (58.164 km/h)
2 Arnaud Tournant (Fra)                   1.01.894
3 Shane Kelly (Aus)                       1.02.128
4 Sören Lausberg (Ger)                    1.02.164
5 Jamie Staff (GBr)                       1.02.780
6 Ben Kersten (Aus)                       1.02.831
7 Theo Bos (Ned)                          1.02.959
8 Matthieu Mandard (Fra)                  1.03.587
9 Grzegorz Krejner (Pol)                  1.03.600
10 Arnaud Duble (Fra)                     1.03.809
11 Hervé Gane (Fra)                       1.03.976
12 Teun Mulder (Ned)                      1.04.041
13 Ahmed Lopez Naranjo (Cub)              1.04.156
14 Masaki Inoue (Jpn)                     1.04.353
15 Keiichi Omori (Jpn)                    1.04.500
16 David Cabrero Buenache (Spa)           1.04.568
17 Carsten Bergemann (Ger)                1.04.601
18 Grzegorz Trebski (Pol)                 1.04.869
19 Rubén Donet Gregori (Spa)              1.05.106
20 Wilson Meneses Gutierrez (Col)         1.05.357
21 Athanasios Mantzouranis (Gre)          1.05.648
22 Benjamin Martinez (Bol)                1.05.747
23 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg)              1.06.158
24 Andriy Vynokurov (Ukr)                 1.06.537