Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Murwillumbah CC - John's Cyclesport Cup #1

March 29, 2003

The first round of the John's Cyclesport Cup was held on Saturday 29 March 2003 by the Murwillumbah Cycle Club.

This is a three race series for this year and features longer race distances than normal club racing for each of the grades. There is also a cumulative points system per race which determines the overall winners for each grade at the end of the series.

A total of 62 riders turned out under threatening skies to contest the first round. A good field of 12 riders faced 80 kilometres in A Grade which included Tumbulgum, Chillingham, Bald Mountain, Numinbah and Nobbys Creek before finishing back at Dulguigan. Given the distance in front of them this group enjoyed a sensible pace over the relatively flat early part of the course.

However, once into the hills the attacks began as riders tried to open up the race. These continued all the way from Numinbah through to Nobbys Creek but none were successful until a kilometre from the finish when three riders went clear. These were Rob Lyte, Ashley Bryant and Brendan Howard. At this point they were never in doubt and Howard showed the way home with a great sprint to take first followed by Bryant and then Lyte in third spot.

The six riders in B Grade also faced the same distance. Given the smaller number of riders this group kept together until Bald Mountain where the pace and hills saw riders begin to drop off the bunch. By the time the passage of Nobbys Creek was completed after nearly 2 hours of racing there were only three riders left. These riders kept together until the finish where Graeme Harvey took the honours ahead of Stephen Scotcher with Will Grey in third place.

C Grade had a large field of 22 riders who faced 70 kilometres of racing. Their course was the same as for the higher grades but without Nobbys Creek (much to everyone's relief!). This was a quick race from the start with a number of attacks throughout the race. Apart from dropping off a few riders none of these were successful and a large group of riders were still in contention at the finish. First home was Kyle Williams with Stuart Ellick second and Josh Breen third.

A good field of 18 riders also faced the same course in D Grade. This race was a slightly more civilised affair until the hills were reached. As soon as the road went up so did the pace which splintered this group and saw a number of riders off the back. Several attacks were also launched by 'young' Ted Mathot and a friend but they were eventually brought back by Crystal Creek and a group of some 12 riders were still together coming into the finish. It was just another lucky day for Fred Mason who sprinted away to take the win with Bruce Syme second and Ted Mathot third after all of his efforts!

E Grade faced 60 kilometres to Tumbulgum and then Bald Mountain before finishing at Dulguigan. The four riders in this grade worked well but the pace and distance proved too much with Bill Mustard and Peter McMahon going clear before Bald Mountain. They shared the work on the way home where Mustard took first just ahead of McMahon with Alan Sultmann third.

Racing next week is the monthly handicap over the full Tyalgum course which should be easy after this week at only 60 kilometres! Start time is 2.00 pm EST from Pat Smith Park, Dulguigan.


A Grade, 80 km
1 Brendan Howard (Hinchinbrook)            2:10 (36.9 km/hr)
2 Ashley Bryant (Murwillumbah)
3 Rob Lyte (Hinchinbrook)
B Grade, 80 km
1 Graeme Harvey (Murwillumbah)             2:14 (35.9 km/hr)
2 Stephen Scothcher (Murwillumbah)
3 Will Grey (Murwillumbah)
C Grade, 70 km
1 Kyle Williams (Murwillumbah)             1:57 (36 km/hr)
2 Stuart Ellick (Murwillumbah)
3 Josh Breen (CATS)
First Woman - Diane Monk (GoldStars)
D Grade, 70 km
1 Fred Mason (CATS)                        2:03 (34.1 km/hr)
2 Bruce Syme (Murwillumbah)
3 Ted Mathot (CATS)
E Grade, 60 km
1 Bill Mustard (Murwillumbah)              1:56 (31 km/hr)
2 Peter McMahon (Murwillumbah)
3 Alan Sultmann (Murwillumbah)

Australian results from the past week

Canberra CC - Summer Criterium Series #19
Randwick Botany CC
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah CC
Trek Series Rd 12


Complete Australian results for 2003