Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch race

West Dapto, February 2, 2003

Hall & Collins make the race their own

Caesars Illawarra Cycle Club weekend racing saw a large field of riders compete over the 37.5km course at West Dapto. For the first time in many weeks, it was necessary to split the riders into 4 groups.

A Grade was a strong field with Jonathan Hall back from the National Championships as well as Seth Collins, Tim Morris and Guy Mathiske. The bunch headed of at a steady pace for the first part of the course until Collins and another rider, made a break from the bunch as they came up past the Railway Bridge. Hall was not going to let them get away too far, and soon attacked the bunch and chased down the two-man breakaway.

Within half a lap Hall had captured the 2 breakaways and then proceeded to ride away from them. However, Collins was not going to let this happened and quickly tagged along for the ride. Tim Morris, Luke Dale and Josh Wall continued to chase the Hall and Collins and were keeping a good pace limiting the gap as much as they could without running themselves into the ground.

With Hall and Collins well away from the bunch, the two started the fight for the top position. In the end Collins was able to keep Hall out of the top spot and the focus then turned to the bunch that was a further minute down. The bunch still had good sprinters in the field. Riders such as Morris, Rourke and, Mark Davis. The three main sprinters were also challenged by the younger riders Wall and Dale as they came to the line, but the wiser heads of Morris and Rourke held out Dale and Wall from the major placings.

Another large field commenced the B Grade race with some riders having been away from the scene for a few years returning to the fray. Riders kept a steady tempo as they rode in formation with the occasional attack from riders such as Brian Joyce and Rob Calladine. The steady pace started to build as they commenced the 2nd lap out to Marshall Mount Hall. With Frank Tortorici and Keith Bennett picking the pace up over the slight rises in an attempt to break the field up. However, this was not very successful.

The bunch seemed to get back together after each of these little bursts of speed and so it came down to a bunch sprint. Tony Pulo, as always, was in for the sprint having saved himself for the sprint during the race. He was up against Lionel Covington, Jeff Grey and Ben Lohse as well as several other lesser-known sprinters. Grey pushed the sprint to all the way to the line never giving up on winning.

His persistence almost paid off, but Lohse managed to keep him out the winnings with Tony Pulo coming in 3rd overall.

C Grade was a good-sized field with the riders not letting any major moves be made. The first sign of any break was chased down immediately to ensure that the field did not have any long chasers towards the end of the race. Karen Dutton (Sutherland) was riding well against during the event pushing small attacks and covering other riders at various stages of the event.

The sprint saw the whole bunch going for a place on the dais. Peter Evans, Dutton, Marcus Arnold and, Mitchell Burns, all going as hard as they could. Evans was not too sure of the sprinting ability of Dutton and so was forced to go hard, with Burns and Dutton going with him all the way to the line finishing in that order with Arnold coming in 4th.

D Grade was a competitive event with riders such as Sally Watts making small attacks up the hills around the course in an effort to ware the bunch down. This was taxing Watts though due to the wind that was around parts of the course. In the dash for the line, young Anna Habeck pushed Lou Jonceski all the way to the line but was only able to claim second with Paul Kaye coming 3rd.

Next weeks race is 27.5km Handicap event. Please provide Lionel Covington with your entry before Friday. Next week's marshals are to be provided by Group 8.

Results, 37.5km

A Grade
1 Seth Collins (Wollongong MTB)      54.26
2 Jonathan Hall (Illawarra)
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)              1.11
4 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
5 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
6 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
7 Mark Davis (Illawarra)
8 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
9 Peter Jones (Illawarra)             1.19
10 Mark Walters (Sth Highlands)       1.33
11 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)
12 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
13 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)            1.00.10
2 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
3 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
4 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
5 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)
6 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
7 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
8 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
9 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)
10 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
11 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          7.41
12 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)             7.48
DNF David Russel (Illawarra)
C Grade
1 Peter Evans (Illawarra)          1.05.12
2 Mitchell Burns (Illawarra)
3 Karen Dutton (Sutherland Shire)     0.10
4 Marcus Arnold (Illawarra)           0.30
5 Paul du Bois (Illawarra)            0.10
6 Philip Jones (Illawarra)
7 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)             0.46
8 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)          1.07
9 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)          3.36
DNF Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
DNF Rebecca Borgo (Illawarra)
D Grade
1 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)         1.07.09
2 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)
3 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
4 Sally Watts (Sth Highlands)
5 Mark Owen (Illawarra)
6 Terry Wall (Illawarra)
7 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)          0.39
8 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
9 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)         0.48
10 Vince O`Dwyer (Illawarra)          2.32
11 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)          4.40
DNF Alan McClelland (Illawarra)
DNF Kylie Spence (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC (Jan 26)
Murwillumbah CC Tyalgum Cup
Illawarra CC Tour de Huntley
Trek Bikes Summer Series #3
Carnegie Caulfield (Jan 21)
Carnegie Caulfield (Jan 28)
Oaks Road Twilight race
Trek Summer Series #4
Canberra CC Crit Series #12
Mersey Valley - Devonport CC


Complete Australian results for 2003