Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Jayco Tour of Tasmania - NE

Australia, October 24-29, 2006

2005 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - October 24: Launceston - Grindelwald, 49.9 km
  • Stage 2 - October 24: Grindelwald - Beauty Point, 48.9 km
  • Stage 3 - October 25: Westbury, 39 km
  • Stage 4 - October 25: Westbury - Westbury, 78.7 km
  • Stage 5 - October 26: Latrobe, 45 km
  • Stage 6 - October 26: Latrobe - Beaconsfield, 80.7 km
  • Stage 7 - October 27: Deloraine - Sheffield, 54.7 km
  • Stage 8 - October 27: Sheffield, 32 km
  • Stage 9 - October 28: George Town, 39 km
  • Stage 10 - October 28: George Town - Scottsdale, 91.9 km
  • Stage 11 - October 29: Launceston, 34 km

Preview: European duo lead Tour entry list

By Rod Morris

Two international competitors headline the entry list for this year's Jayco Tour of Tasmania road cycling classic, after the recent announcement Tour de France star Kjell Carlstrom will contest the Tattersall's Cup round.

Carlstrom, 29, the 2004 Finnish national road champion, is joined by England's Kristian House as the foreigners in this year's event. House, 26, has enjoyed a tremendous year, winning the Tour of Ireland, a stage of the Tour of Bretagne in France, and four races in Britain.

Carlstrom was placed in a stage of the 2006 Tour de France and also raced the Tour of Spain. He is making his second visit to Australia, having won the Herald Sun Tour's sprint championship in 2003, and also a stage of the Tour of Queensland.

Carlstrom's Australian manager Paul Ciuro said the Finn was keen to ride the Tour of Tasmania because of the magnificent terrain and the State's rich cycling heritage. "Kjell has had a vigorously tough year, but would love to finish it off with at least a stage victory in the Tassie Tour," Ciuro said. "He will be a terrific acquisition to the event."

The Jayco Tour, first held last year, will be the final round of the 2006 Tattersall's Cup series. The four-part 'Tatt's Cup' began with the Tour of Gippsland in early August, followed by the Australian cycling grand Prix at Ballarat, then the Tour of the Murray River. Outstanding Tasmanian teenager Wes Sulzberger leads the $115,000 prizemoney series after the first three rounds. Sulzberger, 19, won the Tour of Gippsland, was fourth in the Australian Cycling Grand Prix, and finished sixth in the Tour of the Murray River.

The six-day Jayco Tour of Tasmania will begin on Tuesday, October 24, with a 50km stage from Launceston's Country Club Tasmania to Grindelwald's Tamar Valley Resort. The 594km event will be raced in 11 stages, with $40,000 prizemoney, including $10,000 for the top 10 overall placegetters in the 2006 Tattersall's Cup.

Tour director John Craven said the Tour of Tasmania had the capacity to develop into Australia's most challenging and competitive road cycling event. "This year's course is brilliant - taking in Launceston, Grindelwald, Beauty Point, Westbury, Latrobe, Beaconsfield, Deloraine, Sheffield, George Town and Scottsdale," explained Craven. "The course will certainly display Tasmania in all its visual splendor."

The tour's grand finale will feature a 40-lap criterium over an 850-metre circuit at the Brickfields Reserve, Launceston, at 11.30 a.m. on Sunday, October 29.

Start list

1 Kjell Carlstrom (FIN)
2 Kristian House (ENG)
3 Wesley Sulzberger (TAS)
4 Robert McLachlan (ACT)
5 David Kemp (QLD)
6 Stephen Wooldridge (NSW)
7 Ryan Sullivan (TAS)
8 Sean Finning (VIC)
9 Cameron Hughes (QLD)
10 Nathan Clarke (TAS)
11 David Pell (VIC)
12 Mark O'Brien (VIC)
13 Patrick Shaw (VIC)
14 Richie Porte (TAS)
15 Scott Peoples (VIC)
16 Craig McCartney (VIC)
17 Peter Herzig (QLD)
18 Andrew Hanigan (TAS)
19 Jai Crawford (TAS)
20 Brad Edmunds (NSW)
21 Tim Buchanan (ACT)
22 Johnnie Walker (VIC)
23 Ricky Peoples (VIC)
24 Jarrod Harman (TAS)
25 Michael Ford (VIC)
26 Joshua Wilson (TAS)
27 Jack Alexander (VIC)
28 Jack Anderson (QLD)
29 Peter Barrett (TAS)
30 Jason Bellchambers (TAS)
31 Daniel Braunsteins (VIC)
32 Simon Brown (TAS)
33 Joshua Chugg (TAS)
34 Nathan Earle (TAS)
35 Michael Fitzgerald (TAS)
36 Daniel Furmston (TAS)
37 Stuart Grimsey (VIC)
38 Tim Guy (NSW)
39 Malcolm Hart (VIC)
40 Jason Johnson (TAS)
41 Chris Jory (NSW)
42 Hayden Josefski (QLD)
43 Rob Licciardo (VIC)
44 Paul Logan (VIC)
45 Ben Mather (TAS)
46 Matthew McDonagh (TAS)
47 Glenn Myler (TAS)
48 David Oliver (TAS)
49 William Robinson (QLD)
50 Darcy Rosenlund (NSW)
51 Eugen Schilter (SA)
52 Chris Stack (VIC)
53 Chris Steffanoni (TAS)
54 Timothy Walker (NSW)
55 Gregory Walmsley (NSW)
56 Brendan Washington (SA)
57 Christos Winter (TAS)
58 Cameron Wurf (SA)
59 Reuben Young (SA)
60 Chris Jongewaard (SA)
61 Simon Pearson (SA)

Past winners

2005 Shaun Higgerson
2004 Not held
2003 Not held
2002 Luke Roberts (Aus) Rio Coffee 
2001 Not held
2000 Glen Chadwick (Qld)
1999 Cadel Evans (Vic)
1998 Cadel Evans (Vic)
1997 Alan Iacuone (Vic)
1996 Stephen Hodge (ACT)
The Examiner Tour of the North  
1991 Grant Rice (Tas )
1990 Brian Fowler (NZl)
1989 Not Held 
1988 Kevetoslav Palov (NSW)
1987 Barney St George (NSW)
1986 Stephen Hodge (Vic)
1985 Michael Lynch (Vic)
1984 Jack Swart (NZl)
1983 Wayne Hildred (Vic)
1982 Wayne Dellar (Vic)
1981 Murray Hall (Vic)
1980 Geoff Skaines (NSW)
1979 John Trevorrow (Vic)
1978 Michael Wilson (Tas)
1977 Garry Sutton (NSW)
1976 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1975 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1974 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1973 Barry Ulyatt (NZl)
1972 Don Allan (Vic)
1971 Russell Tankard (Vic)
1970 Don Allan (Vic)
1969 Kerry Wood (Tas)
1968 Kevin Morgan (Tas)
1967 Alf Baker (NZl)
1966 Don Wilson (Vic)
1965 Ray Bilney (Vic)
1964 Mal Powell (Vic)
1963 Vic Brown (Vic)
1962 Vic Brown (Vic)
1961 Allan Grindal (Vic)
1960 Col Hymus (Vic)
1957-1959 No Tour 
1956 Jim Nevin (Tas)
1955 Neil Geraghty (NZL)
1954 Colin McKay (Vic)
The Mercury Tour of Tasmania  
1963 Peter Panton (Vic)
1962 Ron Murray (Tas)
1961 Ron Murray (Tas)
1960 John O'Sullivan (Vic)
1959 Peter Panton (Vic)
1958 Peter Panton (Vic)
1957 Russell Mockridge (Vic)
1956 Eddie Smith (Vic)
1955 I. Greenfield (Scotland)
1954 Roger Arnold (NSW)
Original Tour of Tasmania
1930 Sir Hubert Opperman (Vic)