Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



NAS-TRACK Madison Racing League Race #2

Rochester Hills, Michigan, June 27, 2003

Sink/Dybowksi win; three points makes all the difference

By Christine Walden

A scant three points separated first place from third in NAS-TRACK's second session of its Madison Racing League held Friday, June 27 at the Velodrome at Bloomer Park.

The team of Ray Dybowski and Rippin' Ronnie Sink (Team NEON) took home the first place victory, holding off serious challenges from the team of Terry Palmer and Andre Champoux (Team GREEN) and the team of Dave Koesel and Pio Apostoli (Team BLUE).

Palmer, a powerful in-line skater making his NAS-TRACK debut, won the final sprint of the final 20-Minute Madison, picking up 20 points, enough to move his team from 5th to 3rd. With one lap to go, Palmer came from behind to go up and over Dave Koesel in the Turn 4, edging Koesel out by a wheel at the finish line. Bob Akers (Team WHITE) finished third in that sprint, one place ahead of the evening's winning Team Neon.

Team Neon developed a commanding lead early in the program. In a stellar performance in the Miss and Out, Dybowski broke away from the field, stringing out the paceline and setting his partner up for the win. They rode away with 15 points and an overall lead they held onto until the end.

The NAS-TRACK Madison Racing League Friday Night Series is an omnium in which two-man teams earn points in five different events including the Madison Pursuit, a timed ½ mile event; the 1 mile Sprints, where each team member races 8 laps; the miss and out, where the last rider across the line is eliminated and points are awarded to the remaining six riders; and finally, the hallmark of NAS-TRACK, the Madison Team Race.

In the team race, the two-man teams take turns racing and get in and out of the action with a Madison "exchange". This requires the racing rider to grab the hand of his teammate, who is coming in off relief, and literally, "throw" him into the bike race. This exchange happens approximately every two laps throughout the bike race and results in fast racing all night long.

NAS-TRACK Racing continues at 7 p.m. Friday, July 11, 18 and 27 at the Velodrome at Bloomer Park in Rochester Hills, Michigan. NAS-TRACK will also host a Six Day Bicycle Race beginning August 19. For more information visit www.NAS-TRACK.com or call 248-961-3705. NAS-TRACK is a single entity professional sports league with a goal to re-introduce America's sport of track racing and showcase the excitement of this venue and the unique talents of the racers on it.


1 Team Neon                   46 pts
  Rippin' Ronnie Sink
  Ray Dybowski
2 Team Blue                   45
  Dave Koesel
  Pio Aspostoli
3 Team Green                  43
  Terry Palmer
  Andre Champoux
4 Team Purple                 39
  Rob Good
  Mark St. John
5 Team White                  34
  Rob Akers
  Jon Hughes
6 Team Pink                   17
  Randy Aardema
  Paul Jaqua
Overall Standings
1 Dave Koesel                110
2 Mark. St. John             104
3 Rippin Ronnie Sink         101
4 Jon Hughes                  89
5 Andre Champoux              88
6 Rob Akers                   79
7 Pio Apostoli                77
8 Ray Dybowski                72
9 Rob Good                    71
10 Terry Palmer.              43
11 Wayne Cook                 21
12 Dave Boynton               21
13 Randy Aardema              17
14 Paul Jaqua                 17 

Previous results from the USA