Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



2nd Annual Ronde Ohop Circuit Race

Eatonville, Washington USA, February 25, 2006

Emde Stamps Authority on Muddy Ohop

Michael Emde ( started the year off with a massive solo effort to win the 2006 Ronde Ohop, the first road race of the 2006 Washington State season. He is now the 1st Washington Cup leader of 2006.

How it unfolded

The predicted battle between and The Valley Athletic Club materialized quickly as both teams moved to the front early, with Michael Emde and Michael Pruitt ( pushing the pace up the Muur d’ Mashel on the first lap. Neither was aware that pre-race favorite Rob Campbell (The Valley Athletic Club) punctured at the foot of the Mashel. With small gaps forming in the field already on lap 1, the 2 riders pushed the pace along the dirt section. Derik Archibald (The Valley Athletic Club) took advantage of a drop in speed as the race hit the pavement to launch the race winning move. Only Michael Emde responded and the field would not see the 2 riders again.

With the and Valley riders refusing to help, the chase was left to Jason Hofeldt (Vertical Earth) and Chad Nikolz (Broadmark Capitol). For the next few laps the composition of the chase group was in constant flux as several riders, including Campbell, bridging back up to join the chase group. By lap 10 The Valley Athletic Club had dispatched the rest of the group and looked to be ready to give a concerted chase to the leaders. Emde’s solo attack on lap 8 ended that plan. Archibald finished 40 seconds back with Campbell taking 3rd place, another 30 seconds back.

For the rest of the field it was an epic day in the saddle as the normally dry course was overwhelmed by the recent rains and freezing temperatures to produce a mudfest many likened to cyclocross. It became a battle Archibald summed up neatly, “Just to finish the race you have to be pretty committed.”


Despite crashing during her warm-up, Susan Ashlock (Byrne Specialty Gas) rode away from her field early to rack up an impressive solo win and the leaders jersey in the Washington Cup.

Masters/Cat 3/4/5

Justin Hofeldt (Vertical Earth) broke away from the 7 man lead group with 5 laps to go and hung on for an impressive solo win. The chase group worked hard to catch him but disintegrated in the final laps as the toll caught up with several riders. Matt Vanselow ( led out the sprint for 2nd and was barely able to hold off late charging Pete Banko of TiCycles.


Category 1/2/3 – 20 laps (40 miles)
1 Michael Emde (          
2 Derik Archibald (The Valley Athletic Club)          
3 Rob Campbell (The Valley Athletic Club)             
4 Andrew Lathrop (The Valley Athletic Club)           
5 Michael Gallagher (The Valley-U.S.Armed Forces)     
6 Anthony Ogden (Broadmark Capitol)                   
7 Mark Knokey (           
8 Erik Scheller (         
9 Michael Rea (Bike Doctor / Cannondale)              
10 Patrick Grey (Excel Sports)                        
11 Eric Kapfhammer (      
12 Bart Sanderson (Avanti-TiCycles)                   
Womens - 15 laps (30 miles)
1 Susan Ashlock (Byrne Specialty Gas)*                
2 Lea Stralka (Jet City Velo)                         
3 Tia Bartos (Avanti - TiCycles)*                     
4 Amara Boursaw (Gregg’s Trek VW)*                    
5 Linda Brockway (ASC / Oh Boy! Oberto)               
6 Lisa Given (*           
Masters/Cat 3/4/5 – 15 laps (30 miles)
1 Justin Hofeldt (Vertical Earth)                     
2 Matthew Vanselow (      
3 Peter Banko (TiCycles)                              
4 David Williams (Broadmark Capitol)                  
5 Patrick Zahn (Recycled Cycles)                      
6 Andy Williams (The Valley Athletic Club)            
7 Chris Conville (        
8 Greg Goad (             
9 Ryan Bibko (ASC Racing)                             
10 Sergio Palma (The Valley Athletic Club)            
11 John Todd                                          
12 Brian Volkert (ASC Racing)                         
13 Scott Turner                                       
Junior – 5 laps (10 miles)
1 Alex Brockway (ASC / Oh Boy! Oberto)                
2 Cole Cutright (ASC / Oh Boy! Oberto)                
3 Jonci Robey (ASC / Oh Boy! Oberto)                  
Washington Cup Standings after 1 Round
Cat 1 - 2
1 Michael Emde (       100 pts
2 Derik Archibald (The Valley Athletic Club)        75
3 Rob Campbell (The Valley Athletic Club)           60
4 Andrew Lathrop (The Valley Athletic Club)         50
5 Michael Gallager (The Valley Athletic Club)       45
6 Anthony Ogden (Broadmark Capitol)                 40
7 Mark Knokey (         35
8 Erik Sheller (        30
9 Michael Rea (Bike Doctor / Lemond)                25
10 Patrick Grey (Excel Sports)                      20
11 Eric Kapfhammer (    19
12 Bart Sanderson (TiCycles)                        18
Womens Cat 1-2-3 
1 Susan Ashlock (Byrne Specialty Gas)              100 pts
2 Tia Bartes (Avanti)                               75
3 Amara Boursaw (Gregg’s)                           60
4 Lisa Given (          50

Local results 2006