Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Maryborough Cycling Club

September 28, 2002

Final hitout before the main event

Conditions were perfect for road racing on Saturday as Maryborough Cycle Club riders contested their events on Gayndah Road. For most of the club’s vets it was the last ‘hit out’ before next weekends Masters Games held in October each year.

A and B grades combined for a 50km race. The bunch stayed together for most of the race with some attacks by Peter Munt being shut down by the other riders. With only 3km to go, Dave Trevorrow made a break and the bunch did not respond. He was left to ride to the finish by himself leaving the bunch to sprint for the minor places. Mark Heatherington held off an in form Marty Leahy to take second and third respectively.

C grade riders launched off the start line like it was a 500mtr sprint rather than a 40km race and the younger riders maintained the pace throughout. By the turn around mark the field was shot to pieces and two riders had made a break. Fabian Spice and Jim Cross held off the other riders until the finish to take out first and second respectively. David Keevers crossed for third. This was a particularly strong ride by Fabian and he will be a force to be reckoned with if he takes this form into the track season.

Vets also contested a distance of 40km and by the turn around some of the bunch were suffering in the hills. The bunch split with about 28km covered leaving Nev Ransome, Jenny Strack and Paul Wroe on the front. Nev was looking strong and put it to the Jenny and Paul on of the hills and they were unable to respond. He set a good tempo and put more time into them to finish about 2 minutes ahead of Jenny Strack followed by Sal D’Ioro who took third place.

Master Games racing next week. The following Sunday is the Sun River Festival Race.


A & B grade combined
1 Dave Trevorrow           1.39.56
2 Mark Heatherington
3 Marty Leahy
C grade
1 Fabian Spice             1.11.58
2 Jim Cross
3 David Keevers
1 Nev Ransome              1.16.41
2 Jenny Strack
3 Sal D’Ioro 



Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Footscray CC
Grafton to Inverell Classic
Maryborough CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Murwillumbah CC
Oakville Combine
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2002