Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club

Saturday, September 21, 2002

Big Brendan Bursts Bunch for Big Win

By Peter Winton

Brendan Liddle, a relative newcomer to road cycling races, has scored his first significant race win last Saturday in the Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club's 60 kilometre scratch event at Riverside.

The Club welcomed visitor Peter Christensen from the Penrith Panthers CC.

With Kevin Tankard (the big engine) away at biathlon State Title competition, Liddle used all his raw-boned strength to stick with the attacks launched by Nathan Welsh and Rob McNally upon the 15-rider bunch. After chasing the breakaway duo of Ian Brade and Geoff Marshall, like chewing gum on tyres Liddle stuck to the back of Rob McNally in the sprint finish digging deep to outsprint his A grade partner by half a wheel.

On a warm day 15 of Sunraysia's competitive cyclists sweated it out over 6 laps of the long Riverside circuit. Those riders not prepared to put themselves on or near the front paid the price and struggled to stay with any attacks. Before the third lap the race contingent had separated into a lead group of 9 and a staggering bunch struggling to ride the distance out.

Ian Brade took up the front running at the half way point and demonstrated his fitness by maintaining a high speed. By lap 5 the average was a respectable 39kms/hr. Liddle, all the while, had used his club ranking of "C grade" to distinct advantage by staying protected behind higher performed riders yet never losing touch with the front. Any local cyclist who can outrun riders of the calibre of McNally, Brade and Mills in this type of event is deserving of much attention by the handicapper next time out.

This week Club riders will again be at the Riverside course for a 40 kilometre handicap commencing at the re-scheduled time of 12 noon.


1 B Liddle
2 R McNally
3 I Brade
4 G Marshall
5 B Pollock
6 P Mills
7 P Winton
8 N Welsh
9 A Lloyd



Australian results from the past week

Darwin Cycling Club Premership points
Randwick Botany CC
Murwillumbah CC
Maryborough CC
Footscray Cycle Club
Illawarra CC
Bundaberg CC



Complete Australian results for 2002