Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

September 28, 2002

Rourke & Rutter conquer the winds

The strong August winds were about a month late at last weekend’s two man time trial when more than a few of the riders riding out to Huntley for the race were buffeted from one side of the road to the other.

Due to the strength of the wind, the race organisers reduced the race distance to 18km from the scheduled 27.5km. There was no dissent from the riders. Eighteen teams set off at one minute intervals seeded from the expected slowest to fastest. For most of the starters the handicapper was pretty close on the button with his seeding.

The last team to start was Adam Rourke and Graham Rutter, they posted the fastest time on the very difficult day a respectable time of 29.41. Not far behind them was the triathlete pairing of Nathan A’Bell and Mark Duggen with a time of 29.59.

Mark Davis and Rob Calladine rounded out the top three results in 30.47. Two more masters riders, Lionel Covington and Dave Russel, came in forth with a good time of 31.31. It was good to see Mick Kejda pair up with his daughter Jaclyn, their time of 34.47 was quite good under the conditions. Jac said they could have gone quicker if Mick had done a turn or two.

The gusty winds supplied a few anxious moments such as when Barry Neal lost sight of his partner Andrew Telford due to the fact he had been blown off the road. Maybe Andrew needs to bulk up a bit.

The highest age pairing on the day went to the octogenarian Eric Doughty and his son Garry with 127 years. Their time of 36.31 was good enough for fifteenth place.

Next weekend’s 37.5km scratch race will be the last Saturday race the following weekend racing changes to Sunday mornings. Group 3 are to provide marshals.

Results, 18 km

1 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)    29.41.0
1 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
2 Nathan A'Bell (Illawarra)        0.18.0
2 Mark Duggan (Illawarra)
3 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)        0.56.0
3 Mark Davis (Illawarra)
4 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)     1.50.0
4 David Russel (Illawarra)
5 Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)        2.23.0
5 Lou Caruana (Non-Member)
6 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)         2.42.0
6 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
7 Jose Periera (Illawarra)         4.15.0
7 Warren Poole (Non-Member)
8 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)      4.18.0
8 Mick Shannon (Illawarra)
9 Keith  Bennet (Non-Member)       4.50.0
9 Matt Duggan (Non-Member)
10 Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)        5.06.0
10 Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
11 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)           5.43.0
11 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
12 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)         6.26.0
12 Nikki Gudex (Manly Warringah)
13 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)         6.33.0
13 Reg Hitchens (Illawarra)
14 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)          6.43.0
14 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)
15 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)       6.50.1
15 Eric Doughty (Illawarra)
16 Barry Neall (Sth Highlands)     6.50.2
16 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)
17 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)      7.43.0
17 Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)
18 Jackko Laajokki (Illawarra)     8.12.0
18 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)



Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Footscray CC
Grafton to Inverell Classic
Maryborough CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Murwillumbah CC
Oakville Combine
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2002