Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick-Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, 7 September 2002

Janelle Lindsay Pulls Out All Stops In D Grade

By Tony Horneman

In his last race before the 2002 Australian National Championships in Mooloolaba, Queensland this week, Randwick Botany and NSW Cycling Team member Under-19 Shaun Higgerson displayed another awesome solo performance to win the 36km A-Grade event. In spite of a strong northwesterly wind, Higgerson maintained an average speed of over 40kph. Higgerson, broke away from the 7-rider A-Grade bunch at the half way point and didn’t look back. He recorded a time of 54min 16sec. The second rider home was Randwick Botany rider Matthew Lucas followed by Aaron Castles.

Randwick Botany’s Dave Mackey and John MacKenzie from the Eastern Suburbs club broke away early in the 13-rider B-Grade 32km race. The pair stayed away for 2 laps. Mackey returned to the bunch but MacKenzie was strong enough to stay away for a few more. The peloton had reformed at the midway point and stayed together until the final bunch sprint. First place went to Craig Dempsey (Eastern Suburbs) in a time of 53min 9sec and an average speed of 36.5kph. Second was Michael Bolts (Bicisport) followed by Simon Kenny (Sydney Cycling Club).

In his first club race, new member Dean Lonergan did his fair share of the work at the front, in the 16-rider C-Grade 28km event. Melanie Rassam rode strongly staying with the peleton to the end. Randwick Botany riders Tony Caruana and Wayne Goold broke away with 6km to go and stayed together to fight out a one-on-one sprint. Caruana was triumphant in a time of 48min 18sec and an average speed of 35.1kph in the windy conditions. Hans Visch was the strongest rider in the bunch sprint for third. Richard Manners was fourth and Dean Lonergan a creditable fifth place.

Another new member, Kylie Tinkler lined up for her first club race in the D-Grade 20km race and managed to stay with the 19-rider bunch for most of the event. Andrew Young from the Eastern Suburbs club attacked with 3 laps to go. Randwick Botany’s Scott Rice shadowed Young all the way. Randwick Botany’s AIS Talent Search star Janelle Lindsay pulled out all stops to bridge the gap to the breakaway pair. Lindsay latched-on in the bell lap and had enough fuel left to roll Young and Rice on the finish line to take first place in a time of 35min 42sec and an average speed of 33.9kph.

The E Grade event was contested over 16km and was won by Julia Guinan in a time of 32min 29sec (26.1kph) followed by Kevin Blanchfield.

Junior riders competed in time trails and scratch race events earlier in the day. Riders used good tactical riding skills in the graded scratch races. Times, average speeds and placing can be found at the end of this report.

Commissaire Helen Vella nominated Janelle Lindsay as the Randwick Botany Cycling Club Rider of the Week, for her performance in D Grade. Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or see the website


A Grade 36km
1 Shaun Higgerson                 54.16 
2 Matthew Lucas
3 Aaron Castles
B Grade 32km
1 Craig Dempsey (Eastern Suburbs) 53.09 
2 Michael Bolts (Bicisport)
3 Simon Kenny (Sydney)
C Grade 28km
1 Tony Caruana                    48.18 
2 Wayne Goold
3 Hans Visch
4 Richard Manners
5 Dean Lonergan
D Grade 20km
1 Janelle Lindsay                 35.42
2 Scott Rice
3 Andrew Young (Eastern Suburbs)
E Grade 16km
1 Julia Guinan                    32.29
2 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade Time Trail 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison                10.45
2 Thomas Murdoch                  10.46
3 Pita Vea                        11.00
B Grade Time Trial 4km
1 Belinda Anguin                   7.55
2 Jade Hughes                      8.13
3 Charlotte Cotes                  8.34
C Grade Time Trial 2km
1 Andriano Maradini                4.27
2 Sam Buckland                     4.45
3 Patrick Jenner                   6.20
A Grade Scratch 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Andrew Young
3 Tyrone Bicknell
B Grade Scratch 4km
1 Andriano Maradini
2 Sam Buckland
3 Patrick Jenner
(All ridersRandwick Botany Cycling Club unless otherwise noted.)


Australian results from the past week

Cootamundra Cycle Classic Handicap
Collie CC
Footscray CC
Illawarra CC
Maryborough CC
Murwillumbah CC
Northern Districts CC
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2002