Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycle Club

August 24, 2002

Higgerson on fire

By Tony Horneman

Click for larger image
U19 NSW ITT Champ
Photo: © Tony Horneman

Fresh from his NSW U19 State Individual Time Trial success and anchoring the winning Randwick Botany Cycling Club Team in the NSW State U19 Team Time Trial team, Shaun Higgerson once again blitzed the field in the A-Grade race on Saturday 24 August 2002. Conducted over 36km or 18 laps for Heffron Park, Higgerson broke away from the A Grade bunch at the 6km mark. He powered away and managed to lap the A Grade bunch towards the end of the race to take first place. The bunch sprint saw Stewart Campbell from the Eastern Suburbs finish second ahead of Randwick Botany's Matthew Lucas and Aaron Castles.

B Grade was won by Alex Simmons from the Sydney club followed by Randwick Botany's Clive Hammerson and Dave McPherson.

Randwick Botany star junior Michael Murdoch stole the show in the 28km C Grade race. Paul Davis from the Sydney club went up the road after only two laps and almost caught the B Grade bunch ahead. Keegan Aitchison and Murdoch tried to bridge the gap. Aitchison tired but Murdoch turned the wick up and managed to catch Davis. Murdoch and Davies rode together for a few laps before Murdoch surged and rode away for a solo win. Davis finished second and Randwick Botany's Hans Visch third. Melanie Rassam, wearing her elite Randwick Botany black and white jersey and knicks, rode strongly back in the C Grade bunch and finished towards the front of the field.

Three newcomers featured in the 20km D Grade race. Randwick Botany's Jonathon Hogard and Mark Taylor lined up for the first race of their cycling careers. It was also the first race for Greg Reinhardt from the Sydney club. Setting a brisk pace, the D Grade bunch stayed together to fight out an exciting sprint, into a headwind. Randwick Botany's Scott Rice crossed first with Taylor second and Reinhardt third. Hogard went very well in his first race finishing in fifth place.

Junior racing included a U17 Time Trial over 6km with Keegan Aitchison recording a time of 11min 23sec. The 6km U15 Time Trial was won by Charlotte Cotes 12min 05sec. Mark Woodhouse also competed. Andriano Maradini recorded a time of 13min 56sec in the U11 Time Trial over 6km. The Junior Handicap race was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Thomas Murdoch and Andriano Maradini.

Commissaire, Joanne Buckton named Michael Murdoch as the Eastside Radio 89.7FM / Wooly Wheels - Rider of the Week, for his performance in the C Grade.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted)
A Grade, 36km
1 Shaun Higgerson
2 Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Matthew Lucas
4 Aaron Castles
B Grade, 32km
1 Alex Simmons (Sydney)
2 Clive Hammerson
3 Dave McPherson
C Grade, 28km
1 Michael Murdoch
2 Paul Davis (Sydney)
3 Hans Visch
D Grade, 20km
1 Scott Rice
2 Mark Taylor
3 Greg Reinhardt (Sydney)
E Grade, 14 km
1 Kevin Blanchfield
U17 Time Trial, 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison, 11.23
U15 Time Trial, 6km
1 Charlotte Cotes, 12.05
2 Mark Woodhouse, DNF
U11 Time Trial, 6km
1 Andriano Maradini, 13.56
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Thomas Murdoch
3 Andriano Maradini

Australian results from the past week

Collie – Donnybrook & Return Cycling Classic
Tour of the Fassifern Valley
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC
Maryborough CC
Bundaberg CC
Tasmanian Road Championships
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Canberra CC
Mildura CC
Darwin CC


Complete Australian results for 2002