Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany CC

Heffron Park, August 17, 2002

A, B, C Grades abandoned after crash

By Tony Horneman

Seventy senior and junior riders registered for racing at Heffron Park on Saturday 17 August 2002. All five grades set off, 30 seconds apart, starting with 9-rider A Grade bunch who raced for 18 laps or 36km.

All bunches stayed together, with few successful attacks. Wayne Goold made an impressive break on lap 3 of the C Grade race, but was back in the bunch by the following lap.

Julia Guinan won the E Grade race over 14km in a time of 32min 20sec and an average speed of 26.2kph. Norman Jew was second and Kevin Blanchfield third.

The seventeen rider D Grade bunch finished their 20km race in a time of 34min 40sec and an average speed of 35kph. Final placings were Herve Boutin, Scott Rice and Paul Baker.

There was a fall near the finish line at end of the 23-rider 28km C Grade race. Race Commissaires stopped the race to allow St John Ambulance staff access to fallen riders. A and B Grade bunches where also stopped due to the track being blocked and for safety reasons.

Riders who register for next weeks club race will receive a free entry, due to racing being stopped this week.

Junior racing was conducted earlier in the day. The 6km Handicap race was the feature event, with the following placings: Thomas Murdoch, Michael Murdoch, Andrew Young, Patrick Jenner, Charlotte Cotes, Jade Hughes and Andriano Maradini.

Commissaire, Tony Horneman named Wayne Goold as the Eastside Radio 89.7FM / Wooly Wheels - Rider of the Week, for his performance in the C Grade race.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


D Grade, 20km
1 Herve Boutin            34.40 (35kph)
2 Scott Rice
3 Paul Baker
E Grade, 14 km
1 Julia Guinan            32.20 (26.2kph)
2 Norman Jew
3 Kevin Blanchfield
Junior 6km Handicap
1 Thomas Murdoch
2 Michael Murdoch
3 Andrew Young
4 Patrick Jenner
5 Charlotte Cotes
6 Jade Hughes
7 Andriano Maradini

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Maryborough CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Murwillumbah CC
Nowra Interclub
Randwick Botany CC
WA Junior Road and TT Champs


Complete Australian results for 2002