Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

August 17, 2002

Youth over experience

Another very mild winter’s day greeted the riders at Huntley for the 44.5km scratch races last Saturday afternoon.

There was a bit of team work in the A grade race when Adam Rourke and Mark Davis attacked at quarter race distance. Danny Hennessy was a bit of a marked man but he didn’t chase as he is assisting Davis with his training.

Then when Josh Wall and Mitchell Pearson launched their counter attack Luke Dale backed Hennessy off a she was working with Wall and Pearson.

Within a few kilometres the two chasers had caught the leaders and it was than assured that they would be the winners.

Pearson led the sprint out and despite a very determined effort form Davis he was able to hold him off for a well deserved win. Wall crossed the line in third place.

The climb up Marshall mount split the B grade bunch in two with Adrian Cooper and Peter Evans putting the pressure on. Once the seven riders had the gap they never looked back.

All of the riders in the group contributed well to the break. Lionel Covington was at his best keeping the riders rolling through for their turns. Jeff Gray is showing a lot of good form lately and rode strongly, as did Brian Joyce, Dave Russel and Gavin Drury.

Even though there were a few attempts to break the group up they were all together for the sprint to the line.

Covington led the sprint out, catching a few of the others by surprise. He put in a big effort and looked like the winner but Cooper was just able to get his tyre infront on the line. Evans got the nod for third.

The gutsiest ride of the day went to Teegan Makowski in D grade. After a touch of wheels on the climb of Marshall Mount that culminated in her falling and being ridden over the top of, she chased hard for about 6 kilometres and got back onto the bunch before the end of the first lap.

Paul Kaye and Lou Jonceski had attacked on the climb and got a good break on the bunch. Over the top Peter Vesel tried to bridge the gap but was pulled back by Alan McClelland and Alex Verdi. The two were eventually brought back on the climb of Hooker hill.

On the second climb up the easy side of Marshall Mount Verdi and Kaye surged off the front and worked well together to stay away to the finish.

Makowski, McClelland and Vesel tried to bring them back but couldn’t quite bridge the gap.

Kaye won the sprint from Verdi and Makowski crossed the line 22 seconds later for third.

Next week’s race is a 27.5km time trial. Group 9 is to provide marshals. The Club hill climb championships will be the following week.

Results, 44.5km

D Grade
1 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)           1.16.34
2 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)
3 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)        0.22
4 Alan Mcclelland (Illawarra)        0.29
5 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)            1.02
6 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)           2.14
7 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)          5.06
8 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)            7.42
DNF Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)
A Grade
1 Mitchell Pearson (Eurobodalla)  1.12.00
2 Mark Davis (Illawarra)
3 Josh Wall (Illawarra)              0.02
4 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)            0.05
5 Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)            2.07
6 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)
7 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)        3.37
8 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Jones (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)       1.15.05
2 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
3 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
4 David Russel (Illawarra)
5 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
6 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
7 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)            0.05
8 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)           1.36
9 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
10 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)         1.52
11 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)         5.43
12 Jose Periera (Illawarra)          6.48
13 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)         12.25
DNF Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
DNF Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Canberra CC
Maryborough CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Murwillumbah CC
Nowra Interclub
Randwick Botany CC
WA Junior Road and TT Champs


Complete Australian results for 2002