Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

Dapto, August 24, 2002

Some personal scores settled

The Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club hosted a 27.5km time trial on the weekend. Considered to be the one of the best tests of a cyclist's strength, both physical and mental. Being able to judge the correct amount of effort to put in over the distance to survive and the still beat the competition that you can't see.

From the entry list, it was going to be a good tussle at the top end of the event, with Adam Rourke and Luke Dale in good form over recent weeks. This was not to say that there would not be some good competition between the other riders amongst the pack with some personal scores to be settled.

The riders left the line in full flight in reasonably still conditions. But once out on the course, riders felt the wind in their face slowing their progress along the road.

By the end of the first lap the indication was that some of the riders were going to put in good times despite the wind. Bobby Krstevski turned in a time of approximately 31 minutes. In some cases, this was a good minute or two ahead of some of the more fancied riders that followed.

Dale was out to do a good time, and this was showing by the fact that he was catching riders that had started 3 minutes in front of him by the 5km mark. It seemed that he was out to get the course record set by Chris Brown in 2000 which stood at 38m 43s.

However, it was not to be Dale day for breaking records, but it was close. Dale crossed the line having passed 5 riders that started in front of him and well ahead of his closest competition, Rourke, in a time of 38m 57s. Rourke put in a commendable time despite having an off day with a time of 41m 24s, almost two minutes ahead of third place, Rob Calladine (43m 09s) and equal 4th Mark Davis and Dylan Forbes (43m 16s) who were involved in a personal battle.

Next weeks race will be the Club Hill Climb Championships at Byrong Park, Mt Keira starting at 1pm. Riders are asked to be at the start by 12:45. A sausage sizzle will be held after the ride.

Results, 27.5 km ITT

1 Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)             38.57
2 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)             2.27
3 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)           4.12
4 Mark Davis (Illawarra)              4.19
5 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)            4.19
6 David Russel (Illawarra)            4.22
7 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)          4.55
8 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)         6.18
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)        7.13
10 Tony Clifford (Sth Highlands)      7.21
11 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)              7.22
12 Ross Urwin (Nowra)                 7.25
13 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)          7.51
14 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)          8.27
15 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)         8.36
16 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)          8.50
17 Jose Periera (Illawarra)           9.00
18 Bethany McCarthy (Illawarra)       9.28
19 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          9.39
20 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)        9.45
21 Dean Kelly (Nowra)                 9.46
22 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)          11.06
23 Alan McClelland (Illawarra)        11.32
24 Kate Morphett (Illawarra)          11.41
25 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)            11.43
26 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)              11.52
27 Diana Dickenson (Illawarra)        13.28
28 Michelle Thomson (Illawarra)       14.15
29 Eric Doughty (Illawarra)           15.01

Australian results from the past week

Collie – Donnybrook & Return Cycling Classic
Tour of the Fassifern Valley
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC
Maryborough CC
Bundaberg CC
Tasmanian Road Championships
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Canberra CC
Mildura CC
Darwin CC


Complete Australian results for 2002