Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

September 7, 2002

Cato's impressive victory

There is an old adage in cycle racing that ‘when the going gets tough the tough get motoring’. Saturday’s strong westerly winds certainly made the going tough in the 41km handicap and Brendan Cato certainly got motoring.

Starting off scratch, with Robbie Williams, Cato gave away seventeen minutes to the limit riders. Williams could only stay with him for under half a lap and with just over 10km still to go in the race Cato hit the front and pulled away from the chasers to win by forty five seconds.

Alan Brooks had started off the limit mark by himself and undeterred he had set about the task of staying away from the riders behind with grim determination. He wasn’t caught by Jack Laajoki and Vince O’Dwyer till half way through the first lap.

The early pace setters were Paul Kaye and Warren Poole off the six minute mark, they weren’t caught by the eight minute bunch until the end of the first lap.

With the strong wind it was always going to be a back markers race and the block bunch took full advantage of their strength. Dylan Forbes, Mark Davis, Grant Law, Adrian Cooper and Andrew Stewart worked well together and made Cato work hard to catch them.

The eleven minute bunch had also powered along with strong turns being done by Ross Irvin and good team work by Lionel Covington, Austin Pitman, Mick Shannon and Garry Doughty.

When Cato hit the front at the top of Marshall Mount Forbes and Davis were not far behind. As they turned for home the block bunch got back together and try as they may they were unable to peg the lead of Cato back, in fact he pulled away.

With Law still in the bunch as they approached the finish for the sprint for second place it could have been assumed he would take it easily but Forbes and Davis didn’t go down without a good fight.

Law triumphed from Forbes and Davis. Stewart, Pitman and Cooper rounded out the top seven.

It was good for the Club riders to see the quality and strength of rider that Cato has developed into.

Next week’s race is a 41km scratch race with group 1 providing the marshals.

Results 45 km handicap

1 Brendan Cato (Illawarra)          1.04.04
2 Grant Law (Illawarra)             0.02.45
3 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)          0.02.45
4 Mark Davis (Illawarra)            0.02.45
5 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)        0.02.45
6 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)         0.06.45
7 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)         0.02.45
8 Ross Irvin (Nowra)                0.06.45
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)      0.06.51
10 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)            0.05.02
11 Mick Shannon (Illawarra)         0.07.19
12 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)            0.13.17
13 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)        0.17.17
14 Terry Welsh (Illawarra)          0.11.17
15 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)        0.08.24
16 Dean Kelly (Nowra)               0.11.24
17 Peter MacDonald (Illawarra)      0.11.38
18 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)       0.12.04
19 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)            0.09.12
20 Phil Jones (Illawarra)           0.12.12
21 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)      0.07.23
22 Jackko Laajokki (Illawarra)      0.18.41
23 Robbie Williams (Nowra)          0.04.42
24 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)            0.08.42
25 Peter Evans (Illawarra)          0.08.42
26 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)        0.23.12
27 Lou Caruana (Non-Member)         0.16.55
28 Warren Poole (Non-Member)        0.20.51
DNF Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
DNF Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
DNF Richie Lorenc (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Kelly (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
DNF Carlo Paiola (Marconi)

Australian results from the past week

Cootamundra Cycle Classic Handicap
Collie CC
Footscray CC
Illawarra CC
Maryborough CC
Murwillumbah CC
Northern Districts CC
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2002