Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

October 5, 2002


By Tony Horneman

B grade fly down the home straight
Click for larger image

A strong easterly breeze challenged the fifteen-rider A-Grade bunch at the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday 5 October 2002.

Nathan Jones from the Southern Districts Cycling Club in Western Australia mixed it with the local A-Graders to make for an interesting race for spectators. Nick Wood from St George/FRF Couriers team also rode hard to add some colour to the race. After 36km, David Stewart from the Eastern Suburbs club had his eyes on the prize but finished third behind the King of Heffron Park, Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello) and Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs). Spurgeon’s winning time was 58min 25sec at an average speed of 37.3kph in the blustery conditions. Wood and Jones finished 4th and 5th respectively.

The eleven-rider B Grade bunch split after only 3 laps of the 16-lap race. John MacKenzie from Eastern Suburbs, Tony Iannacito from Harlequin Club and Randwick Botany’s David Jackson broke away and put half a lap on the field by the end of 32km race. The trio fought out an exciting sprint with MacKenzie finishing first in a time of 55min 20sec and average speed of 35kph. Iannacito was second and Jackson third. Dean Preddy from Eastern Suburbs won the bunch sprint for fourth place with Randwick Botany’s Dave Mackey fifth.

Maria Papadopoulos from the Southern Off Road Cycling Club joined sixteen other C-Grade riders for a 28km race. Randwick Botany’s strongman Wayne Goold and Paul Kelly from the Sydney Club, broke away mid-way through the race. The pair worked together to keep the bunch away. Kelly won the final sprint in a time of 49min 58sec and an average speed of 34kph. Goold finished second. Daniel Heinz from the Sydney Club won the bunch sprint for third. Greg Fisher from the Waratahs club was fourth.

Fourteen-year-old Tyrone Bicknell teamed with his dad Guy to work together in the D-Grade 20km race. Cheered on by a contingent of rowdy supporters and family members, the pair stayed with the bunch to the final sprint. Final placings were Brendan Scarfe, 38min 15sec (31.7kph), Karl Belamy (Sydney) and Paul Baker (Randwick Botany).

Junior riders competed in four events earlier in the day starting with the A-Grade Time Trail over 2km. Robert Cater could not quite crack the 3-minute barrier recording the fastest time of 3min 01sec. Michael Murdoch’s time was 3.10 and his brother Thomas Murdoch 3.33. In the B-Grade Time Trial Jade Hughes recorded a time of 4min 10sec. C-Grade riders Andriano Maradini, and Sam Buckland recorded times of 4.17 and 4.30 respectively. The Junior Handicap over 10km was won by Robert Cater followed by Jade Hughes and Andriano Maradini.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM Game On program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website


Images by Randwick Botany CC


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 36km
1 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)         58.25 (37.3 km/h)
2 Stewart Campbell (Eastern Suburbs)
3 David Stewart (Eastern Suburbs)
4 Nick Wood (St George / FRF Couriers)
5 Nathan Jones (Southern Districts WA)
B Grade, 32km
1 John MacKenzie (Eastern Suburbs)     55.20 (35 km/h)
2 Tony Iannacito (Harlequin)
3 David Jackson
4 Dean Preddy (Eastern Suburbs)
5 Dave Mackey
C Grade, 28km

1 Paul Kelly (Sydney)                  49.58 (34 km/h)
2 Wayne Goold
3 Daniel Heinz (Sydney)
4 Greg Fisher (Waratah)
D Grade, 20km

1 Brendan Scarfe
2 Karl Belamy (Sydney)                 38.15 (31.7 km/h)
3 Paul Baker 
E Grade, 14km
1 Norman Jew
2 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade Time Trial, 2km
1 Robert Cater                          3.01
2 Michael Murdoch                       3.10
3 Thomas Murdoch                        3.33
B Grade Time Trial, 2km
1 Jade Hughes                           4.10
C Grade Time Trial, 2km
1 Andriano Maradini                     4.17
2 Sam Buckland                          4.30
Junior Handicap, 10km
1 Robert Cater
2 Jade Hughes
3 Andriano Maradini

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Bundaberg CC
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
NSW State Masters Road Championships
Robina Cycling Club


Complete Australian results for 2002