Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

October 5, 2002

Jones boy does it again

There were good size bunches in each of the three grades; seven in A, fifteen in B and eight in C. As the race was only 37.5km in distance, the pace was quite high and savage at times.

Peter Jones and Graham Rutter caused a split in A grade and they were joined by Mark Scott and Adrian Cooper. The four worked well together and gradually pulled away from the chasers. To their credit the chasing group never gave up and they were able to keep the gap at less than a minute.

Jones held Rutter off for the win in a time of 58.40, with Scott crossing the line in third place.

Almost to script as the B grade bunch rolled away from the start Joe Pereira attacked with Garry Doughty. The two were away for a few kilometres but the bunch eventually closed the break down.

There were many attacks during the race with Bobby Krstevski, Peter Evans and Ross Irvin featuring prominently. The most serious was on the final climb up Marshall Mount when Evans, Austin Pitman, Neil Midgley and Krstevski got a good gap. But due to a few concerted efforts by the riders chasing the bunch came back together again.

Krstevski started the sprint a long way out but was quickly overhauled by the chasers. The fresh legs of Midgley proved the deciding factor and he won his second scratch race in a row. Irvin was second with Evans third, the bunch time was 1.00.17.

The C grade race was also quite aggressive with Peter Vesel keeping the other riders honest. Vince Dwyer and Andrew Brooks were always there to pick up the pace when it slowed.

There were a few occasions when it looked like Vesel and one of the other riders may get away but the were brought back each time. Keith Bennet and Reg Hitchens also worked well to keep the bunch together. Andrew Telford in his first race in many months rode well.

Over the last kilometre as the speed started to pick up for the finish the bunch began to splinter. Vesel was looking strong but he was edged out by Joe Chiaverini and Dwyer. C grade's time was 1.08.13.

Last weekend saw the last of the Saturday afternoon races; racing next weekend will be on Sunday morning at 8:30am. Next Sunday's race is a 37.5km handicap with group 4 providing the marshals.

Results, 37.5 km

A Grade
1 Peter Jones (Illawarra)           58.40.00
2 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)
3 Mark Scott (Illawarra)
4 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)             0.16
5 David Russel (Illawarra)              1.04
6 Paul Weidersehn (Illawarra)
7 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)           1.00.17
2 Ross Irvin (Nowra)
3 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
4 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
6 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)
7 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
8 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
9 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
10 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
11 Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)
12 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)
13 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)            0.39
14 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)            1.43
DNF Rebecca Borgo (Illawarra)
C Grade
1 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)         1.08.13
2 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)
3 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)               0.01
4 Keith  Bennet (Non-Member)            0.02
5 Reg Hitchens (Illawarra)              0.07
6 Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)            0.20
7 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)            0.35
8 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)             0.39 

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Bundaberg CC
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
NSW State Masters Road Championships
Robina Cycling Club


Complete Australian results for 2002