Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 8-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Launceston City Cycling Club - Annual 3-Day Tour

Launceston, Tasmania, June 8 - 10, 2002

Jamieson makes his run

By Rod Morris

Celebrating turning 18 only a fortnight before was Mark Jamieson's inspiration to show senior riders, he has what it takes to match it with the best on offer. Jamieson, from the sleepy hamlet of Nook near Sheffield on Tasmania's North-West Coast, blitzed a quality field of riders to win the annual Launceston City Cycling Club's 3-Day Tour (June 8-10).

Jamieson featured in five podium finishes from the six general classification stages to tally 87 points and to record a 16-point winning margin over Tasmania's top mountain bike rider Sid Taberlay, who this week has instigated an official appeal over his omission from Australia's Commonwealth Games team.

The LCCC Tour works on a points basis, rewarding the first five riders over the line in six separate morning and afternoon stages, whilst bonus points in King of the Mountain and Sprint Ace categories are also on offer.

Jamieson is the reigning Burnie Wheelrace champion and is fresh from success at the Australian Under 19 Track Nationals in Sydney. His preparation will now centre on the World U19 Track Championships in Melbourne in September.

Jamieson won two stages, finished second twice and was fourth in Stage 4. His only blemish was missing out on points in Day 2's third stage from Riverside to Beauty Point. Jamieson's consistency played a large part in his success, as he also finished joint runner-up in the Sprint Ace behind surprise winner, Mark Matthews, who was riding out of Category 3 and was outright fourth in the KOM, which was won by Taberlay, who perhaps may yet make Australia's Commonwealth Games selectors sit up and take notice.

Taberlay also won two stages and was second to Jamieson in Stage 2.

The LCCC Tour was held in cold and windy conditions and on Day 1, riders were subject to mild snow. Tasmanian cycling officials are currently pondering a summer road roster - conditions last weekend may have tipped the influence in favour of just that.

Defening champion, Karl Menzies had to be content with fourth after Evandale youngster Ryan Sullivan also slipped past him in GC placings to take third. Sullivan, younger brother of Sean Sullivan, who is currently in Europe racing, was also a model of consistency, scoring four podium finishes.

The LCCC Tour included five different categories as well as the prestigious GC and winners included Jamieson (Cat. 1); Todd Parnell (Cat. 2); Jason Andersch (Cat. 3); Trent Hadley (Cat. 4) and Scott Oakey (Cat. 5).

A separate junior tour was also held with winners being Matt Goss (Under 17); Will Robinson (U15) and Edward Robinson (U13).


Stage 1: Cressy 53 kms
1 Karl Menzies
2 Mark Jamieson
3 Ryan Sullivan
4 Todd Parnell
5 Kharne Hammersley
Stage 2: Cressy 473kms
1 Mark Jamieson
2 Sid Taberlay
3 Bernard Sulzberger
4 Ryan Sullivan
5 Kharne Hammersley
Stage 3: Riverside to Beauty Point 60kms
1 Matt Conn
2 Mark Matthews
3 Daniel Cutting
4 Jason Andersch
5 Mark Bowden
Stage 4: Beauty Point to Legana 54 kms
1 Sid Taberlay
2 Ryan Sullivan
3 Karl Menzies
4 Mark Jamieson
5 Todd Parnell
Stage 5: Youngtown 48 kms
1 Mark Jamieson
2 Mark Matthews
3 Laurie Venn
4 Karl Menzies
5 Bernard Sulzberger
Stage 6: Youngtown 26kms
1 Sid Taberlay
2 Mark Jamieson
3 Ryan Sullivan
4 Karl Menzies
5 Bernard Sulzberger
General Classification
1 Mark Jamieson
2 Sid Taberlay
3 Ryan Sullivan
4 Karl Menzies
5 Mark Matthews
6 Matt Conn
7 Bernard Sulzberger
8 Daniel Cutting
9 Laurie Venn
10 Dale Woolston
11 Todd Parnell
12 Jason Andersch
13 Jon Lewarn
14 Kharne Hammersley
15 Steve Aitken
16 Mark Bowden
17 Abram Manion
18 David Dennis
King of the Mountain
1 Sid Taberlay
2 Ryan Sullivan
3 Bernard Sulzberger
4 Mark Jamieson
5 Karl Menzies
6 Dale Woolston
7 Steve Aitken
8 Mark Matthews
9 Daniel Cutting
Sprint Ace
1 Mark Matthews
2 Mark Jamieson
3 Ryan Sullivan
4 Karl Menzies
5 Bernard Sulzberger
6 Dale Woolston
7 Jon Lewarn
8 Matt Conn
9 Sid Taberlay
10 Daniel Cutting
11 Abram Manion
12 Todd Parnell
13 Jason Andersch
14 David Dennis
Category 1
1 Mark Jamieson
2 Sid Taberlay
3 Ryan Sullivan
4 Karl Menzies
5 Matt Conn
6 Bernard Sulzberger
7 Daniel Cutting
8 Dale Woolston
9 Jon Lewarn
10 Steve Aitken
Category 2
1 Todd Parnell
2 Josh Simpson
3 Kharne Hammersley
4 Mark Bowden
5 Laurie Venn
6 Michael Johnson
7 Trevor Innes
8 Abram Manion
9 Matt Sydes
10 David Oliver
Category 3
1 Jason Andersch
2 Mark Matthews
3 Chris Ringk
4 Peter Smith
5 David Klyne
6 Adam Hartley
7 Jason Bellchambers
8 Nick Clark
9 Andrew Hanigan
10 Dwayne Smith
11 David Dennis
Category 4
1 Trent Hadley
2 Jason Jones
3 Emily Williams
4 5 Josh Wilson
6 Louise Yaxley
Category 5
1 Scott Oakey
2 Nathan Hingston
3 Angus Martin
4 Nick Blackberry
5 Stephanie Williams
6 Nigel Hume
Junior 1 Under 17
1 Matt Goss
2 Wes Sulzberger
3 John Rayner
4 Michael Smith
5 Cameron Flint
6 Jarrod Harman
7 Tim Walker
8 Josh Murfett
9 Natasha Mapley
10 Matthew Bonham
11 Kim Hogarth
12 Nathan Jones
Junior 2 Under 15
1 Will Robinson
2 Grace Sulzberger
3 Alex Holden
4 Ben Laskey
5 Aaron Jones
6 Tom Robinson
7 Carrie Price
8 Tiffany Manion
9 Daniel Jamieson
Junior 3 Under 13
1 Edward Robinson
2 Ben Grenda
3 Brendan Sutton
4 Andrew Dolan
5 Stephen Heppel
6 Melissa Barnes

Australian results from the past week

Brisbane Valley Tour
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Darwin Cycling Club - Bridge to Bridge 30km time trial
Darwin Cycling Club - Pointscore
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tour of Cardinia
Wagga Motors Open Handicap
Wagga to Albury - John Woodman Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2002