Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-29, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club - Club Championship Time Trial

Dapto, NSW, June 22, 2002

Race of truth

The race of truth more commonly known as a time trial is always hard but when you add very strong gusting south westerly winds and the Club Championships up for grabs, it becomes even more difficult.

Apparently Adam Rourke, riding in the Masters 1 division, thought that the conditions weren’t difficult enough so he included getting off his bike and putting the chain back onto the chainring. This wasn’t that much of a hurdle for Rourke as he still recorded the fastest time on the day in a blistering time for the conditions of 42.44.

With a time only 11 seconds slower than Rourke, Peter Jones recorded the second fastest time on the day of 42.55 in winning the under 23 division.

There were many other notable rides on the day including Frank Tortorici’s winning time in Masters 3 of 45.01, third fastest overall on the day. Dave Morris rode an excellent time of 47.59 to take out Masters 6.

Eric Doughty’s time of 56.42 might not look too flash but when you consider the adverse conditions and the fact that he will be 82 this year it was in fact a phenomenal time from one of the best Masters riders over the years in Australia and the World. Only several years ago he won his division in the World road championships in Austria.


1 Adam Crowther
2 Tony Pulo
3 Bobby Krstevski
Men U23
1 Peter Jones
Junior U17
1 Stuart Binns
1 Bethany McCarthy
2 Emma Ringer
Junior U19 Women
1 Rebecca Borgo
Master 1 
1 Adam Rourke
2 Dylan Forbes
3 Andrew Stewart
4 Neil Midgley
5 Jeff Gray
6 Scott Turnbull
Master 2
1 Phil Jones
Master 3
1 Frank Tortorici
2 Garry Doughty
3 Jose Periera
4 Patrick Delahunty
Master 4
1 Rob Calladine
Master 5
1 Terry Welsh
2 Jackko Laajokki
Master 6
1 Dave Morris
2 Lionel Covington
3 Vince O'Dwyer
Master 8
1 Eric Doughty

Australian results from the past week

Barkley Challenge - Tour of Mt Isa
Illawarra Cycle Club
Iron Mike Classic Handicap Canberra CC Rd 6
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Mudgee Road Open Handicap (Mark Dwyer Memorial)
NSW Criterium Championships
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tin Can Bay Invitation


Complete Australian results for 2002