Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 8-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

South East Region Queens Birthday Tour, final stage.

Braeside, June 10, 2002

Queens Birthday criterium

Report by Chelsea & Peninsula Cycling club

The Chelsea & Peninsula Cycling club held the final stage in the South East Region Queens Birthday tour with a criterium on a new circuit in Braeside. With a bitterly cold wind that was around for all four stages and dark threatening clouds, 109 riders turn up to try the new 1.2km flat course, and by the end of the day it was given the seal of approval.

With the all important overall prize money up for grabs James Taylor (Car), had it in the bag as long as he finished. James had all intentions in finishing being in the break of 5, (Kristjan Snorrason , Robert Crowe Warren Knevitt and Nick Kiraly(an all Carnegie squad) that went half way through the one hour race. The bunch brought the break back to a five second gap but left their run to late. Kristjan won the sprint form Rob, James came in third.

B Grade over all, was in a different situation leading into the final stage. With Simon Clark and Michael Ford battling it out, with a point between them. A no show from Michael left the overall prize money to Simon. Simon took off with Bruce Will and Rob Tidey, in the one hour event and stayed away, with Bruce taking the sprint from Simon and Rob. Max Rainsford lead the bunch out and came in for fourth. Louis Hamilton-White was the first women in.

C Grade decided to have a bunch sprint for the line with Gaetano Abbate taking the honors from Marcel Musco and David Lumby. David finish up with the overall title with Kirsty Batolin ( who was the first women over the line) coming in second.

D Grade also left it to a bunch sprint. Gary Millburn was over the line first, from young Alex Smyth and Sean Bourke ( C grade looking good guys). Megan Godfrey was the first women. Sean was the overall winner in D grade with a very surprised Emily Phillips and Melissa Nicholls taking second and third.

E grade overall queen was won by Louise Bourke, who battled it out all stages.

We would like to congratulate all riders who competed in the four stages, and like to thank all helpers that helped over the weekend.

Unfortunately there is no combine racing this weekend so the next race will be on the 22nd of June at Bayles for the Pick a Part handicap.

Stage winners
A Grade ( 23 starters)
1 Kristjan Snorrason (Car)
2 Robert Crowe (Car)
3 James Taylor (Car)
4 Warren Knivett (Car)
B Grade (30 Starters)
1 Bruce Will
2 Simon Clarke
3 Rob Tidey
4 Max Rainsford
1st Women Louisa H White
C Grade ( 24 Starters)
1 Gaetano Abbate ( Bruns)
2 Marcel Musco (Car)
3 David Lumby (Car)
4 Gary Pertile (Bruns)
1st Women Kirsty Batolin (Bbn)
D Grade ( 25 Starters)
1 Gary Millburn (Car)
2 Alex Smyth (Car)
3 Sean Bourke (Bbn)
4 Steve Harris (Stk)
1st Women Megan Godfrey (Car)
E Grade
1 Lisa Friend (Bbn)
2 Louise Bourke (Bbn)
A Grade
1 James Taylor (Car)
2 Michael Tolhurst (Can)
3 Steve Martin (Bbn)
B Grade
1 Simon Clarke (Car)
2 Bruce Will (Car)
C Grade
1 David Lumby (Car)
2 Kirsty Batolin (Bbn)
3 Eric Jones (Car)
D Grade
1 Sean Bourke (Bbn)
2 Emily Phillips (Bbn)
3 Melissa Nicholls (Car)
E Grade
1 Louise Bourke

Australian results from the past week

Brisbane Valley Tour
Bundaberg Cycle Club
Darwin Cycling Club - Bridge to Bridge 30km time trial
Darwin Cycling Club - Pointscore
Illawarra Cycle Club
Maryborough Cycle Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Tour of Cardinia
Wagga Motors Open Handicap
Wagga to Albury - John Woodman Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2002