Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Club Championships

July 27, 2002

Officials were very pleased with such a good turnout that enabled a good group in each division, especially the women's division.

With Peter Jones, Chris Brown and Guy Mathiske all having been in heavy training due to their imminent departure for the Tour of Tahiti, the elite race was going to be tough.

Brown attacked from the start and was away for over a lap. Due to the chase up Marshall Mount hill the bunch split apart, only leaving Mathiske, Jones and Andrew Shepherd chasing. The four got together and rode away from the chasers.

Frank Tortorici never gave up, but he was unable to make up any time on the leaders.

The sprint for first was very close with Jones edging out Brown and Mathiske in 1:41:52.

Adam Rourke as usual made life difficult for the other riders in the A grade race by his attacking. Mark Davis and Grant Law also created a few breaks. But as it turned out the bunch had quite a few riders such as Lionel Covington, Jeff Gray, Peter Evans, Brian Joyce and Austin Pitman willing to do the hard work and bring it all back together each time there was an attack.

So the result came down to a bunch sprint that was lead out by Davis. It looked like he might hold on but Rourke came up on the outside of him with 100m to go and he then looked like the winner until Law threw his bike on the line to win by a half tyre.

Law, Rourke and Davis in a time of 1:45:21.

There was another breakaway in B grade. On the second climb up Marshall Mount Adrian Cooper attacked and took Ben Lohse and Paul Wiedersehn with him. Over the top they had a lead of 15 seconds.

A chase bunch of Tony Pulo, Gavin Drury, Adam Hotchkis and Joe Pereira got together and the pursuit was on. The chasers held them at around 30 seconds until the climb up Hooker hill when the gap opened up to over a minute.

The leaders were able to hold the gap all the way to the finish where Cooper crossed the line infront of Lohse and Wiedersehn in a time of 1:16:39.

D grade stayed together until the climbs of Marshall Mount when Peter Vesel and Paul Kaye slipped off the front of the bunch. After a concerted effort Alan McClelland bridged the gap to the other two.

The three worked well together and pulled away from the chasers. On the final climb up Hooker hill McClelland lost contact with the others.

In the final 100m Vesel pulled away from Kaye for a good win. McClelland crossed the line in third place. The winning time was 1:17:13. Special mention goes to Vince O'Dwyer, Alan Brooks and Tony Stephenson, they never gave chasing.

For the first time in many years the Club was able to hold a women's race. Bethany McCarthy rode strongly as did Kate Morphett and Emma Ringer. Dianna Dickinson didn't make it over Marshall Mount with the others but she continued to chase hard.

All three women tried to split the bunch up but to no avail and the result ended up in a bunch sprint.

Morphett was too quick crossing the line 3 seconds in front of McCarthy and Ringer. The winning time was 1:20:42.

Next week's race is a 56km handicap, three laps to Marshall Mount hall. Group 7 os to marshal. Anyone who has not already entered should ring Lionel. Entries close with Garry Doughty next weekend for the Nowra Interclub.


A grade 64km
1 Grant Law (Illawarra)          1.45.21
2 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
3 Mark Davis (Illawarra)
4 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
5 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
6 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
7 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)           0.05
8 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
B grade 44.5km
1 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)      1.16.39
2 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
3 Paul Weidersehn (Illawarra)
4 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)           1.06
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)
6 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
7 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
8 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)       1.59
9 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)          2.15
10 Mick Shannon (Illawarra)         4.10
C grade 44.5km
1 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)       1.19.06
2 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)         0.25
3 Phil Jones (Illawarra)            0.33
4 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
5 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)     0.55
6 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)     1.04
D grade 41km
1 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)        1.17.13
2 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
3 Alan Mcclelland (Illawarra)       1.40
4 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)         2.55
5 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)         2.57
6 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)       6.03
Elite 64km
1 Peter Jones (Illawarra)        1.41.52
2 Chris Brown (Illawarra)
3 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
4 Andrew Shepherd (Macarthur)
5 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)       4.47
6 Mark Duggan (Illawarra)           7.30
7 Nathan A'Bell (Illawarra)
DNF Jordan Gover (Illawarra)
DNF Mark Wall (Sutherland)
DNF Mark Scott (Illawarra)
Women 41km
1 Kate Morphett (Illawarra)      1.20.42
2 Bethany Mccarthy (Illawarra)      0.08
3 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)           0.11
4 Diana Dickenson (Illawarra)       6.13

Australian results from the past week


The Charles Coin Memorial Laidley Classic
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Maryborough Cycling

Australian Veteran Cycling National Championships - Road

Barbara Wyles Handicap
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Stephen Merz Memorial Handicapped



Complete Australian results for 2002