Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 20-26, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Barbara Wyles Handicap

July 20, 2002

Tortorici triumphant

A good sized field of forty four riders lined up for the Barbara Wyles 54km handicap with five juniors participating in the Patricia Gooley 14km Handicap. Jackson and Scott Law worked well together off the limit mark in the junior race and were able to hold off the chasers. Jackson was too strong for his brother and collected the winner’s trophy.

John Kejda rode the whole race in no man’s land and collected third place. Fastest time and the trophy went to Stuart Binns.

In the major race someone forgot to tell Frank Tortorici that once a bunch is caught by the bunches that started behind them that the ‘stronger’ riders are meant to win.

Tortorici put in a blinding sprint from a long way out and caught the others napping, he held on for a momentous win.

The seventeen minute start on the scratch riders for the limit bunch looked quite generous but try as they may the bunches behind were just too quick.

The nine minute bunch combined well with Patrick Delahunty, Bobby Krstevski, Jason Johnson, Peter Kelly, Mark Duggan and international triathlete Trudi Barnes all sharing the workload. At the end of the first lap they had caught the bunches that had started before them and were the leaders on the road.

As the nine minute group climbed Hooker hill on the way out on the second lap they were swamped by the seven minute bunch being driven along by Lionel Covington, Jeff Gray, Mick Shannon, Gavin Drury and Tony Pulo.

As the five minute bunch ascended the same climb they were caught by the three minute bunch. They had kept the chasers at bay so long due to the fact that the whole bunch had been working well as a team. Tortorici, last year’s winner Andrew Stewart, Brian Joyce, Peter Evans, Garry Doughty and Austin Pitman had all put in good efforts.

Once they were caught a lot of them still swapped off turns with the three minute riders. Rob Calladine, Mark Scott and Josh Wall were all relentless on the front of the group.

As the three minute group crested the steep side of Marshall Mount the scratch riders of Adam Rourke, Peter Jones and Guy Mathiske bridged across to them.

From then on the pace was kept very high as they had the combined seven minute group in their sights. The scratch group made contact at the end of the second lap.

From then on for the next nine kilometres the scratch riders took turns attacking trying to get away. Rourke put in a very strong effort with four kilometres to go. Just as the chasers eased up because they thought they had him he would surge again. With two kilometres to the finish Rourke was brought and Scott immediately counter attacked, which caused a split in the bunch.

With about five hundred metres to go the front riders were all together again and Tortorici took a flier, the rest is history. His winning time was 1.24.25.

Jones was second and recorded the fastest time of 1.19.25 with Mathiske third and second fastest. Gray sprinted well for fourth with Adam Hotchkis fifth.

Barbara Wyles made the presentations and thanked Eric Doughty for starting the race in 1988 and donating the trophies each year and Garry Doughty Builders for donating the prize money.

Next week’s race is the Club road championships, due to the longer race distance the start time is being brought forward to 1pm. Volunteers are required and requested to contact Garry Doughty on 42715533.

The committee in consultation with the riders are trialing a new format this year. There will be a 62km Club championship race that anyone may enter and then there will be the traditional A, B, C and D grade championships.

It is also hoped to have a women’s championship event if there are sufficient riders.


1 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)                   1.36.25
2 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
3 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)
4 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)
5 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
6 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
7 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)
8 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)
9 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
10 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
11 Mick Shannon (Illawarra)
12 Trudi Barnes (Illawarra)
13 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
14 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
15 Mark Scott (Illawarra)
16 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
17 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                        1.38.05
18 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)
19 Jason Johnson (Sth Highlands)
20 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)                      1.38.39
21 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
22 Kate Morphett (Illawarra)                    1.41.22
23 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)
24 Andrew Brooks (Illawarra)                    1.47.30
25 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)                    1.49.51
26 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)                  1.53.23
   DNF Mark Wall (Sutherland)
   DNF Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)
   DNF Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
   DNF Jordan Gover (Illawarra)
   DNF Mark Davis (Illawarra)
   DNF Josh Wall (Illawarra)
   DNF Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
   DNF Nathan A'Bell (Illawarra)
   DNF Paul Kaye (Illawarra)
   DNF Phil Jones (Illawarra)
   DNF Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)
   DNF Mark Duggan (Illawarra)
   DNF Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)
   DNF Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)
   DNF Alan Mcclelland (Illawarra)
   DNF Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
Patricia Gooley Jr Handicap

1 Jackson Law (Illawarra)                          34.00
2 Scott Law (Illawarra)                            34.19
3 John Kejda (Illawarra)                           34.22
4 Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)                         36.09
5 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)                         41.21

Australian results from the past week

Bundaberg CC
Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium
Illawarra CC Scratch
Maryborough CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC
Randwick Botany CC


Complete Australian results for 2002