Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for July 13-19, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Maryborough CC

July 13, 2002

Maryborough riders negotiated the Gayndah Road course on Saturday. The competition was strong even though some members were away for other open events. With the Childers - Biggenden - Maryborough race coming up in a couple of weeks A and B grade riders were keen to stretch their legs in preparation. Their event was an A/B combined handicap race covering 60km. The front markers Wayne Martin, Paul Wroe and Mark Livingstone had thirteen minutes start on the scratch riders and worked well together in their attempt for a win.

Soon after the start a strong chase bunch formed including Bruce Phersson, Marty Leahy, Mark Heatherington and under 19 national champ Clint Johnson. They had caught all but the front group before the turn-around point and then continued to set a fast pace, reaching speeds of up to 50kph as the gap closed. As the pace came on through the hills, the bunch split on a few occasions but each time the break was closed down. By the 50km mark the front markers had been caught ending a top effort by those three riders. As riders neared the top of Dog Hill young rider Mark Livingstone tried to break opening a small gap. He was quickly neutralised ensuring a bunch sprint finish. At the 300m mark Garry McLeish tried to surprise everyone by jumping early. The sprint specialists were quickly on to his wheel and followed through to take the honours. Bruce Phersson showed good pace to win from Mark Heatherington and Clint Johnson


C grade riders completed a distance of 40km also in handicap format. Young riders dominated the places, Hayden Josefski coming in ahead of Mitchell Bryant who is in only his first year of road racing competition. Fabian Spice completed the placings and is another rider who continues to improve with each outing.

Vets/Women's event, also 40km handicap produced some exciting racing. Back markers Ron Wroe and Nev Ransome chased down everyone in front only to be denied by Cassie Persival who jumped them on Dog Hill and held them off till the line. Cassie's time was 1hr 16mins while Ron and Nev completed the course in 1hr 13mins.

D grade racing saw an exciting finish with the judges unable to separate Michaela Davis and Bryanna Langford. Both these young ladies are showing good form and are thoroughly enjoying their racing.

Racing next week on Gayndah Road. Nominations 1.30pm, racing starts 2pm. Further inquiries phone: 41281227.


A & B grade
1 Bruce Phersson        1.38.00
2 Mark Heatherington
3 Clint Johnson
C grade
1 Hayden Josefski       1.08.00
2 Mitchell  Bryant
3 Fabian  Spice
Vets & Women
1 Cassie  Persival      1.16.00
2 Ron Wroe
3 Nev Ransome
D grade
dead heat:
1 Michaela Davis
1 Bryana Langford

Australian results from the past week

Adelaide River Classic
Bundaberg Cycling Club Handicap
Canberra Cycling Club Round 9 Handicapped TT
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club Handicap
Murwillumbah Cycle Club Handicap
Randwick Botany Cycling Club


Complete Australian results for 2002