Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mersey Valley - Devonport Cycling Club 2-Day Tour

Tasmania, July 27-28, 2002

Sulzberger extends his lead

By Rod Morris

Launceston rider Bernard Sulzberger, didn't just cling to his overnight lead in the Mersey Valley - Devonport Cycling Club's two-day tour, he extended his dominance.

The four-stage - 290 km tour was held predominately in the Moriarty district amid consistent rain and steady winds, making race conditions extremely tough for riders and there was a heavy casualty list of scratchings.

In Saturday's opening two stages, Sulzberger scored a win and a third, as well as picking up vital bonus points in both the Sprint and King of the Mountain championships.

Yesterday, Sulzberger was just as consistent, finishing second to NSW rider Richard Moffat in Stage 3 and then third behind Jonathon Clarke (Victoria) and Devonport's Gareth Atkins in the fourth and final stage.

Sulzeberger eventually won the tour's General Classification by the comfortable margin of 37-points from reigning Tasmanian road champion, Karl Menzies, while Atkins rallied to claim third place.

Sulzberger also won the Category 1 section and KOM title, while Atkins snatched victory in the Sprint Championship.

Heading into the last stage, four riders were separated by just one point in the Sprint title, but it was Atkins who showed the highest determination when it counted.

Sulzberger will now be one of six Tasmanian riders who head to Victoria this week to tackle the highly popular and successful Tattersall's Cup series, which starts with the Tour of the Ballarat Goldfields on Wednesday.


General Classification Cat. 1 & 2
1 Bernard Sulzberger (Tas)                         64 points
2 Karl Menzies (Tas)                               47
3 Gareth Atkins (Tas)                              42
General Classification Cat. 3 & 4
1 Jason Andersch (Tas)                            104
2 Peter Oliver (Tas)                               45
3 Adam Hartley (Tas)                               39
Category 1
1 Bernard Sulzberger (Tas)                         15
2 Jonathon Clarke (Vic.)                            8
3 Gareth Atkins (Tas)                               8
4 Karl Menzies (Tas)                                6
Category 2
1 Trevor Innes (Tas)                               15
2 David Klyne (Tas)                                15
3 Mark Bowden (Tas)                                 6
4 Dale Woolston (Tas)                               3
Category 3
1 Jason Andersch (Tas)                             18
2 Jason Bellchambers (Tas)                         10
3 Peter Oliver (Tas)                                9
4 Adam Hartley (Tas)                                9
Category 4
1 Glenn Campbell (Tas)                             12
2 Paul McKenzie (Tas)                              10
3 Mark Wilkie (Tas)                                10
4 Phil Dunn (Tas)                                   7
Sprint Championship (Cat. 1 & 2)
1 Gareth Atkins (Tas)                              13
2 Bernard Sulzberger (Tas)                         10
Sprint Championship (Cat. 3 & 4)
1 Josh Wilson (Tas)                                12
2 Garry Silk (Tas)                                 10
King of the Mountain Championship (Cat. 1 & 2)
1 Bernard Sulzberger (Tas)                         19
2 Karl Menzies (Tas)                               17
King of the Mountain Championship (Cat. 3 & 4)
1 Jason Andersch (Tas)                             28
2 John Devries (Tas)                               12
Junior 1
1 Matt Goss (Tas)                                  19
2 Wes Sulzberger (Tas)                             17
3 Jarrod Harman (Tas)                               8
4 Cameron Flint (Tas)                               5
Junior 2
1 Will Robinson (Tas)                              19
2 Sean Oliver (Tas)                                15
3 Alex Holden (Tas)                                14
4 Grace Sulzberger (Tas)                            8
Junior 3
1 Ed Robinson (Tas)                                20
2 Brendan Sutton (Tas)                             15
3 Andrew Dolan (Tas)                          .    13

Australian results from the past week


The Charles Coin Memorial Laidley Classic
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Maryborough Cycling

Australian Veteran Cycling National Championships - Road

Barbara Wyles Handicap
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Stephen Merz Memorial Handicapped



Complete Australian results for 2002