Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Scratch Race

December 22, 2002

Danny's Day

With a turn of speed and cunning that has won him many races, Danny Hennessy made a last minute attack to win the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club 3 lap, 27.5 km scratch race on Sunday.

Conditions were warm and humid for the 43 riders who raced in three grades.

The A Grade event got off to a flying start with turns being swapped off at rapid pace. Attacks were going up the road regularly with Josh Wall rolling off the front again and again. The chasers consisting of Tim Morris, Luke Dale, Mark Davis and Grant Law worked hard every time to bring him back.

The final climb up to Hooker Hill Wall put 100 metres into the bunch. Frank Tortoricci and Morris got the bunch back together again before Hennessy rode away to take the win. Luke Dale managed to hold off Tim Morris for third.

The 19 strong B Grade event was a flyer aswell. The attacks started early with Dennis Fitzgerald using a track derny skills to gap the bunch in the first 100 metres although he was quickly caught. Once the race seriously commenced the pace was kept high by the stronger riders who continually rolled off the front causing the bunch to respond vigorously. The pace never eased as Garry Doughty, Gavin Drury, Brian Joyce and Stuart Binns stirred the race along.

Lap by lap as the race progressed the bunch stretched out at the turns until eventually a few riders dropped off. On the last lap the race almost split in two but the tired riders at the back just managed to get back together with the front of the race on the drop down Hooker Hill on the last run back to the line. With the pace still high and the bunch still together the sprinters were making arrangements. A fast finshing Austin Pitman managed to hold off Joyce from Pereira in a fast bunch sprint finish.

C Grade had 11 riders lining up including new rider Brett Shorten. The pace was fast enough to cause riders to drop off the back one by one. Eventually the bunch was reduced to just five with Alvin Coelho taking the win from Mall Moss and Vince O'Dwyer.

Next Sunday's race will be Handicap with marshall group 3 assisting.

Results, 27.5km

A Grade
1 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)                    39.43.9
2 Luke Dale (Illawarra)
3 Mark Davis (Illawarra)
4 Grant Law (Illawarra)
5 Tim Morris (Illawarra)
6 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)
7 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)
8 Josh Wall (Illawarra)
9 Peter Jones (Illawarra)
10 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
11 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)
DNF David Russel (Illawarra)
B Grade
1 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)                    40.57.3
2 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
3 Jose Periera (Illawarra)
4 Kirk Brown (Illawarra)
5 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)
6 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
7 Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)
8 Peter Evans (Illawarra)
9 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)
10 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)
11 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)
12 Keith  Bennet (Illawarra)
13 Ben Lohse (Illawarra)
14 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)
15 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)
16 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)                       2.40.9
17 Bethany McCarthy (Illawarra)                 5.41.3
DNF Mick Kejda (Illawarra)
DNF Adam Crowther (Illawarra)
C Grade
1 Alvin Coelho (Illawarra)                     45.17.8
2 Mal Moss (Illawarra)
3 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)
4 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)
5 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)
6 Anna Habeck (Illawarra)                       4.32.9
7 Brett Shorten (Illawarra)                    13.15.9
DNF Geoff Gooley (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
DNF Jaclyn Kejda (Illawarra)
DNF Paul du Bois (Illawarra)

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC Criterium
Randwick Botany CC Presentation Night
Melton CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC Scratch Race
Illawarra CC Time Trial Series #2
Randwick Botany CC Criterium
St Kilda CC Criterium Scapin Series #1
Ulverstone Traders Christmas Criterium
Carnegie Caulfield CC Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Trophy Race
Canberra CC - Summer Crit Series #8


Complete Australian results for 2002