Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany CC

Heffron Park, Maroubra, December 21, 2002

Santa visits Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

Santa comes to Heffron
Click for larger image

Santa Claus interrupted his busy schedule to make a special visit to Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday, December 21 2002, during the Annual Randwick Botany Cycling Club Pudding Races. Santa handed out Christmas gifts to 20 junior riders and young spectators, and posed for a group photo before returning to his pre-Christmas preparations. Junior riders included Belinda Angwin, Elliott Doughty, Matthew Fortuna, Patrick Jenner, Adriano Maradini, Robert Cater, Michael Murdoch, Thomas Murdoch, Andrew Young, Luke Davison, Alexander To, Tom Paton, Tamas Bykerk and Jack Bennett.

Robert Cater again recorded a blistering 3.03 for the 1km time trial with a strong easterly breeze hampering his progress around the circuit. Michael Murdoch won the Junior Handicap race. Andrew Young was second followed by Cater and Luke Davison from the Southern Cross club.

In senior racing, Dave Stewart from Eastern Suburbs club returned to Heffron Park with an impressive win in the 30km A Grade race. The winning time was 50.18. The average speed was only 36km/h, due to the gusty sea breeze or too many Christmas parties. Second place went to 2002 National Road Club Champion Klayten Smith from Team Caravello. Randwick Botany star Shaun Higgerson was third.

Overseas visitors were the feature of the 28km B Grade event. Conor Bartley and Fergus O’Conner from the Fermoy Cycling Club, County Cork, Ireland lined up with local riders to battle the wind at Heffron Park. Saxon Johns from Eastern Suburbs was first home in a time of 49.40 at an average speed of 34km/h. Randwick Botany’s Michael Cowan was second followed by Conor Bartley. Jennifer Manefield from the Parramatta Cycling Club rode strongly, staying with the front-runners all the way.

Arthur Driver from Penrith Panthers Cycling Club drove the C Grade bunch for 24km. Randwick Botany’s John Buckton took several turns at the front to lift the pace. Driver led out in the final sprint with Randwick Botany’s Shaun Ballesty ideally positioned on Driver’s rear wheel. 100m from the finish Ballesty came out of the slipstream to power home for a win in a time of 42min 20sec at an average speed the same as B-Grade. Crispin Arnall (Randwick Botany) was second with Ryan Terry (Manly Warringah) third.

Craig Klement won the 18km D Grade race in a time of 33.42 at an average speed of 29km/h. Second was James Guinan followed by Jonathon Hogard in third place. All placegetters are from the Randwick Botany club.

All placegetters received Lion’s Club Christmas Puddings as prizes.

Coverage of local cycling results can be heard on Sydney’s Eastside Radio 89.7FM "GAME ON" program, hosted by Brad Cooke, each Saturday morning from 10am.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club will take a break for Christmas and the New Year. There will be no racing on Saturday 28 December 2002. The first race for 2003 will be Saturday 4 January 2003 at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or email or website

The Randwick Botany Cycling Club Committee wishes all members, family, friends, spectators and media representatives a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.


(Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders unless otherwise noted.)
A Grade, 30km
1 Dave Stewart (Eastern Suburbs)       50.18 (36 km/h)
2 Klayten Smith (Caravello)
3 Shaun Higgerson
B Grade, 28km 
1 Saxon Johns (Eastern Suburbs)        49.40 (34 km/h)
2 Michael Cowan
3 Conor Bartley (Fermoy Cycling Club, County Cork, Ireland)
C Grade, 24km
1 Shaun Ballesty                       42.20 (34 km/h)
2 Crispin Arnall
3 Ryan Terry (Manly Warringah)
D Grade, 18km
1 Craig Klement                        33.42 (29 km/h)
2 James Guinan
3 Jonathon Hogard
E Grade, 12km
1 Kevin Malcohm                        27.48
2 Norman Jew
3 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade 1km Time Trial
1 Robert Cater                          3.03
2 Michael Murdoch                       0.18
3 Thomas Murdoch                        0.45
B Grade 1km Time Trial
1 Andrew Young                          3.36
2 Luke Davison,                         0.06
3 Alexander To                          0.16
4 Tom Paton (Manly Warringah)
C Grade 1km Time Trial
1 Tamas Bykerk                          4.00
2 Jack Bennett                          4.12
3 Adriano Maradini                      4.26
Handicap, 10km
1 Michael Murdoch
2 Andrew Young
3 Robert Cater
4 Luke Davison

Australian results from the past week

Footscray CC Criterium
Randwick Botany CC Presentation Night
Melton CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC Scratch Race
Illawarra CC Time Trial Series #2
Randwick Botany CC Criterium
St Kilda CC Criterium Scapin Series #1
Ulverstone Traders Christmas Criterium
Carnegie Caulfield CC Criterium
Eastern Suburbs Trophy Race
Canberra CC - Summer Crit Series #8


Complete Australian results for 2002