Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC Hill climb championships

Mt Keira, August 31, 2002

Wall's record ride

Only the seriously fit or mentally deficient would consider racing up Mt Keira but twenty five hardy souls took part in the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club Hill Climb Championships last Saturday afternoon.

On a very mild and sunny afternoon the riders set off at thirty second intervals in their personal assault against the mountain.

Back in 1996 a much younger Scott Bradburn set the bitumen alight in a time of 7:21 for the distance from Byrong Park to the Mt Keira lookout turn off. He backed up the following year with a time of 7:31. Since then no one has seriously challenged his time till last Saturday.

Under 17 rider Josh Wall, fresh from his victory in last weekend's State Under 17 Time Trial Championship, pushed himself to his limit and crossed the line in a time of 7:20:78. He not only won the Under 17 Championship but recorded the fastest time on the day and set a new course record. His ride was even more impressive when you take into consideration the fact that he was riding restricted junior gears.

The next best time was recorded by Under 23 rider Brendan Cato in 7:38:67, only just over one second quicker than Luke Dale in 7:39:70.

Following the race the riders and family members had a barbecue and discussed the tactics for next year's event.

Next week's race is a 41km handicap, anyone who has not entered should contact Lionel on 42269278. Marshall group 10 is to provide officials.

Entries close next week for the final race of the Interclub Series at Southern Highlands.


Master 1
1 Dylan Forbes (Illawarra)        8.28.09
2 Jeff Gray (Illawarra)           9.24.53
3 Alex Verdi (Illawarra)         10.16.55
4 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)          10.19.93
5 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)        10.42.50
6 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)    10.59.37
Master 2
1 Mark Davis (Illawarra)          8.42.45
2 David Russel (Illawarra)        8.46.02
3 Phil Jones (Illawarra)         10.59.88
Master 3
1 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)    10.12.47
2 Jose Periera (Illawarra)       10.25.30
Master 4
1 Peter Evans (Illawarra)         9.17.23
2 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)       10.47.42
Master 6
1 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)   10.00.70
2 Vince O'Dwyer (Illawarra)      12.43.39
Junior U17
1 Josh Wall (Illawarra)           7.20.78
2 Stuart Binns (Illawarra)        9.55.46
Men U23
1 Brendan Cato (Illawarra)        7.38.67
2 Mark Scott (Illawarra)          8.12.30
1 Peter Jones (Illawarra)         8.31.18
2 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)       8.38.17
3 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)    10.11.57
1 Kate Morphett (Illawarra)      10.08.54
2 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)        11.22.35
Non Club Member
1 Luke Dale (Eurobodalla)         7.39.70

Australian results from the past week

Collie – Donnybrook & Return Cycling Classic
Tour of the Fassifern Valley
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Illawarra CC
Maryborough CC
Bundaberg CC
Tasmanian Road Championships
Murwillumbah CC
Randwick Botany CC
Canberra CC
Mildura CC
Darwin CC


Complete Australian results for 2002