Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 27-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Maroubra, April 28, 2002

Over eighty junior and senior riders registered for the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium races at Heffron Park on Saturday, April 27, 2002.

Seven riders started in the A Grade 36km race which saw the return of Randwick Botany rider Patrick Jones to A Grade racing. Jones finished third and said that his new Ritchey racing wheels helped his performance. Aaron Castles broke away with 1500m to go to finish the A Grade event in a time of 56.41. John Kenny from the Eastern Suburbs club finishing second. Clive Hammerson was fourth.

Garry Oliver from the Manly Warringah club took out the 16-rider B Grade 32km event in a time of 51.23. Karen Dutton from the Sutherland club rode strongly in a demanding and fast race in windy conditions. Dean Preddy was second with Dave Jackson third.

New and visiting riders featured in the 30-rider 28km C Grade race. Steve Wiesner from the Cycleogical Club in Brisbane, made some strong breakaways during the race. Matthew Cordery from the Southern Off- Road MTB Club also rode strongly. Atsushi Suwaki from Iwate near Sendai in Japan is studying English in Australia and enjoys cycling. In his first race at Heffron Park, Suwaki stayed with the bunch until the final sprint to the line. New Randwick Botany member Sean Bloch took out the event in a time of 48.40. Tim Rice from Sydney CC was second, followed by Mark Davies and Under 17 rider Keegan Aitchison.

Randwick Botany member and AIS Track Cycling Talent Search Team Member - Janelle Lindsay, lined up with 22 other D Grade riders for a 20km race around the park. Several Sydney Cycling Club women joined Janelle at the start line including Anneliese Aarts, Anna Murray, Beth Bowen and Julie Howard. Final placings were Melanie Rassam from the BRATS Club in a time of 35.25, John Harrs from Eastern Suburbs, John Edmondston, Anneliese Aarts and Anna Murray. The E Grade placings after 14km was Norman Jew followed by Kevin Blanchfield.

Six junior events were conducted starting with the Under 17 Time Trial over 10km. Keegan Aitchison had the best time with 18.31. Belinda Angwin recorded a time of 19.29. In the Under 15 Time Trial over 8km, the following times were recorded: Andrew Young 15.28, new club member Tyrone Bicknell 15.46 and Tom Richards 17.50. The Under 13 Time Trial was held over 6km. Max Gueniev's time was 14.43. The Under 11 4km Time Trial times were Taylor Aitchison 9.02, Adriano Maradini 9.07 and Nicholas Mellick 11.12.

The next event was a Under 11 Scratch Race over 6km. First place went to Adriano Maradini in a time of 17.15 followed by Taylor Aitchison and Nicholas Mellick. The Junior Points Race over 8km was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Andrew Young, Belinda Angwin and Tyrone Bicknell.

Randwick Botany Junior Robert Cater Shines In Canberra Tour

Click for larger image
Robbie shines in Canberra
Photo: © Randwick Botany CC

In other junior racing news, Randwick Botany's Robbie Cater won a place on the Under-17 podium with a strong ride in the two-day Canberra Tour on Saturday, April 27, 2002.

Robbie surprised the strong field when he broke away from the bunch 6km out from the finish of the 38km first stage on Saturday, winning the stage by more than 30 seconds to take the yellow jersey.

After a tactical second stage on the same course later on Saturday, Robbie, the only Randwick Botany rider in the field, overcame a lack of support to finish with the bunch behind Cameron Hope.

Sunday's 54km final stage was a cat-and-mouse affair between Robbie and Cameron with Robbie showing his early-season form to match the experienced Wagga Wagga rider move for move.

After a close bunch finish, Robbie was placed second in the final general classification, 21 seconds behind Cameron. Southern Cross rider Luke Picton was in third place, a further 17 seconds behind.

Southern Cross's Tyler McLaughlin and Penrith's Phillip Stokes finished further down the GC.

Robbie's coach and Randwick Botany's Junior Development Office Peter Zala, who accompanied him to Canberra for the first big race of the season, said the result was tribute to the pre-season preparation work Robbie had invested.

"He's matched the best riders in the state this weekend and put them on notice that he's a force to be reckoned with this season," Peter said.

"It's a great lead in to next weekend's open at Wagga Wagga when Robbie will be able to look for support from Randwick Botany riders Thomas and Michael Murdoch in what I expect will be a very strong race."

Robbie was thrilled with the result.

"I'd like to thank Peter, my parents and the club for their support," he said.

Snowy Wilson Memorial Open

A large spectator crowd is expected at next Sunday's (5 May 2002) 40th Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium cycling event at Heffron Park, Robey Street, Maroubra, starting at 8.30am. Over 100 men and women riders from all over NSW and the ACT will compete for over $2,500 in prizes in six races around the tight 2km Heffron Park circuit. A sausage sizzle BBQ and club canteen will be open throughout the day for riders, officials, media, sponsors and spectators.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


A Grade - 36km
1 Aaron Castles                      56.41
2 John Kenny (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Patrick Jones
4 Clive Hammerson
B Grade - 32km
1 Garry Oliver (Manly Warringah)     51.23
2 Dean Preddy
3 Dave Jackson
C Grade -  28km
1 Sean Bloch                         48.40
2 Tim Rice (Sydney CC)
3 Mark Davies
4 Keegan Aitchison
D Grade - 20km
1 Melanie Rassam (BRATS)             35.25
2 John Harrs (Eastern Suburbs)
3 John Edmondston
4 Anneliese Aarts (Sydney CC)
5 Anna Murray (Sydney CC)
E Grade - 16km
1 Norman Jew
2 Kevin Blanchfield
Under 17 Time Trial - 10km
1 Keegan Aitchison                   18.31
2 Belinda Angwin                      0.58
Under 15 Time Trial - 8km
1 Andrew Young                       15.28
2 Tyrone Bicknell                     0.18
3 Tom Richards                        2.22
Under 13 Time Trial - 6km
1 Max Gueniev                        14.43
Under  11 Time Trial - 4km
1 Taylor Aitchison                    9.02
2 Adriano Maradini                    0.05
3 Nicholas Mellick                    2.10
Under 11 Scratch Race - 6km
1 Adriano Maradini                   17.15
2 Taylor Aitchison
3 Nicholas Mellick
Junior Points Race - 8km
1 Keegan Aitchison                   19 points
2 Andrew Young                       12
3 Belinda Angwin                      9
4 Tyrone Bicknell                     8
Results and report courtesy Tony Horneman, Randwick Botany CC



Australian results from the past week

Coburn CC Northern Combine
Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club
Illawarra Cycling Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Bundaberg CC
South Australian Masters Games
ANZAC Day - RSL Trophy


Complete Australian results for 2002