Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 21-21, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

RSL Trophy

April 25, 2002

ANZAC Spirit soars in Tasmania

Winner Carl Menzies
Photo: © Sam Denmead
Click for larger image

By Sam Denmead
28 riders competed in this year’s ANZAC day Hobart Wheelers Road Race Championships. This 96km course held in the Derwent Valley is Tasmania’s version of the Ardennes in Belgium with similar terrain and rolling hills.

ANZAC day provided ideal conditions and at this time of year, spectacular vibrant autumn colours. One minute’s silence was observed before the start as a sign of respect for ANZAC day and in true ANZAC spirit, the riders were fired up to ride.

Heading north out of New Norfolk on the Lyell Highway, the race started off into a tough headwind. An early break by Carl Menzies, Sid Taberlay, Trevor Innes and Mark Bowden developed into a minute lead at the bottom of the Meadowbank climb. Jai Crawford worked hard to catch the breakaway and managed to maintain half a minute behind Carl all the way home.

According to eventual RSL trophy winner, Carl Menzies, "the hardest part of this already challenging race was holding off young Jai (Crawford). He wouldn’t give up, so I could never slow down." Swapping turns with Sid right up until the last climb, Carl said, "Sid laid off at the end there, because he’s saving himself for Sunday." (Sid and Mark Leis are competing in the Oceana Games, MTB race, in New Caledonia this Sunday).

While he found the race tough, Carl admitted his "weight advantage and tailwind came in handy during the downhill finish. With tiny guys like Sid and Jai, they don’t tend to go as fast down the hills as me", he laughed.

The women’s competitors got off to a shocking start and battled hard for the rest of the race playing catch up. Sally Smith dropped a chain and missed the major break on the climb. Along with fellow competitor, Eleanor Paterson, the two worked together into a tough headwind, eventually crossing the line together. Although the wind made for a difficult start, the tailwind was superb down the hills to finish and Sally claimed she felt good throughout and had a good ride.

A discussion was held at the end of the race as to Mark Leis riding behind a passing car. The claim was ultimately dismissed, Mark rightfully took third place behind Jai Crawford and Carl Menzies. Sid Taberlay came in a leisurely fifth behind Steve Aitken in fourth with Mark Bowden riding extremely well coming in sixth place.

Final handicapping saw some changes to the overall places with Matt Sydes coming first with a ten minute handicap, followed by Carl Menzies off Scratch and race sponsor, Ray Appleby in third.


1 Carl Menzies                    2.39.15
2 Jai Crawford                       1.29
3 Mark Leis                          4.10
4 Steve Aitken                       4.13
5 Mark Bowden
6 Sid Taberlay                       5.10
7 John De Vries                      7.38
8 Vern Reid                          8.50
9 Matt Sydes                         8.51
10 Trevor Innes                     10.57
11 Ray Appleby (45 min handicap)
12 Dennis Nation (45 min handicap)
13 Gary Silk                        18.59
14 Michael Garglioni
15 Peter Smith                      26.45
16 Andrew Hannigan
17 Sally Smith
18 Eleanor Paterson
19 Chris Chapman
20 David Oliver                     37.05
21 Michael Thorne                   41.19
22 David Conley                     43.47
23 Paul Maxwell
24 Justin Kennedy

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra Cycle Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Canberra Cycling Club - round 1
Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002