Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 13-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Maroubra, April 14, 2002

Sunny But Windy Conditions At Heffron Park

A magnificent sunny day at Heffron Park greeted an excellent turn out at the Randwick Botany criterium races on Saturday 13 April 2002. As with just about every other Saturday in the year the wind blew like nowhere else in Sydney but whilst some curse it, it does helps to make the racing so much closer as riders find it extremely hard to get away from the peleton, on bunch, in the windy conditions.

The A grade race featured seven Randwick Botany riders. Shaun Higgerson, the clubs time trial specialist, powered along not letting any of the others take a turn at the front. In fact Higgerson did the first 32km of the 36km race at the front battling the windy conditions. This huge effort took its toll on Shaun because with two laps to go U17 rider Robert Cater came past Shaun, spinning like a blur in his restricted junior gearing, and picked up the tempo. He was followed closely by Aaron Castles, Matthew Lucas and Clive Hammerson. These four managed to get a break on the tiring Higgerson and the other A Graders. The foursome battled it out over the last couple of laps of the race. Aaron Castles led out the sprint. As he started to fade, Cater pounced but unfortunately for Cater, the wind was behind the riders in the sprint allowing them to select the big gears and travel at much higher speeds than the junior could muster in his little 40/13 gearing. Lucas, who was third wheel, realised that Cater's speed had topped out, suddenly swung into action those huge speed skating legs. Lucas thought he had it won, but forgot about Randwick Botany strongman Clive Hammerson who had been sitting on his wheel, waiting to pounce. Hammerson moved alongside Lucas, at a perfectly timed-to-the-centimetre sprint, and was able to come over the top of Lucas and snatch victory from him by the narrowest of margins.

The B grade field stayed largely together but with three laps to go, Joseph Sorby attacked as he did so successfully during C Grade races, and established a 100m lead. Most of the B graders didn't get overly concerned as they thought there was little chance that this new B grader could maintain the gap especially in the windy conditions. On the bell lap it suddenly became apparent that Sorby had a little more in the tank than everyone thought. Dean Preddy, with a huge effort hit out to catch Sorby and eventually bridged the gap. Preddy then sat on Sorby's wheel to regain his breath. Sorby led out in the sprint but Preddy had recovered sufficiently to beat Sorby in the final sprint to the line. The bunch then sprinted for third place with Manly rider, David Watkinson narrowly beating the Randwick Botany riders.

There were several small attacks in the C grade race before Paul Kelly from Sydney Club got away on his own. Kelly was out there for about four laps before the bunch reeled him back in. Randwick Botany riders featured heavily in the final sprint with new member Shaun Bloch taking first place, Neil Morris second and Brad Lane third.

Women riders featured prominently in the D grade race with Melissa Clarence from the Dulwich Hill club doing much of the work at the front. Kate Rowe from Sydney club also rode very well, as did Leanne Koh from Randwick Botany. In the end however, it was David Jenkins-Flint who won the race with Clarence second and Randwick Botany rider Ron Sproule third.

Six Junior events were conducted, starting with the U17 Time Trial over 10km. It was extremely close with only one second separating Keegan Aitchison and Michael Murdoch.

The Junior A Grade scratch race over 10km was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Mark Woodhouse and Michael Murdoch. The Junior B Grade race over 6km was won by Adriano Maradini, with Nicholas Mellick second.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


A Grade - 36km
1 Clive Hammerson (Randwick Botany)             55.45
2 Matthew Lucas (Randwick Botany)
3 Aaron Castles (Randwick Botany)
B Grade - 32km
1 Dean Preddy (Randwick Botany)                 53.07
2 Joseph Sorby (Randwick Botany)
3 David Watkinson (Manly Warringah)
C Grade - 30km
1 Shaun Bloch (Randwick Botany)                 47.15
2 Neil Morris (Randwick Botany) 
3 Brad Lane (Randwick Botany)
D Grade - 20km
1 David Jenkins-Flint (Randwick Botany)         37.23
2 Melissa Clarence (Dulwich Hill)
3 Ron Sproule (Randwick Botany)
E Grade - 14km
1 Norman Jew (Randwick Botany), 41.26
2 Kevin Blanchfield (Randwick Botany)
U17 Time Trial - 10km
1 Keegan Aitchison                              19.22
2 Michael Murdoch                                0.10
U15 Time Trial - 8km
1 Andrew Powell                                 15.19
2 Mark Woodhouse                                 0.33
3 Belinda Angwin                                 0.39
U13 Time Trial - 6km
1 Max Gueniev                                   13.54
U11 Time Trial - 4km
1 Adriano Maradini                               9.17
2 Nicolas Mellick                                1.47
Junior A Grade - 10km
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Mark Woodhouse
3 Michael Murdoch
Junior B Grade - 6km
1 Adriano Maradini
2 Nicholas Mellick

Australian results from the past week

NSW Southern Division Road Championships
ACT championships
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002