Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for March 30-31, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

March 30, 2002

Bunnies get the win

With the committee not wishing to compete with the furry chap with big ears on Sunday morning it was decided to commence the Saturday afternoon winter race season last Saturday.

The riders still struck it lucky when Patricia Gooley organised hot cross buns and chocolate eggs for afternoon tea following the race.

Due to the Easter break numbers were down for the 41.5km handicap but there was still a good representation of riders off each mark.

The limit riders of Reg Hitchens, Geoff Gooley and Vince O’Dwyer took full advantage of the start they were given and swapped off turns well until the turn around at Calderwood road when Hitchens continued on by himself.

At the other end of the race Peter Jones succumbed to a recurring back problem that left Brendan Cato alone to bridge the 2 minute gap to the block bunch.

The 8:30 minute bunch were powering along and even when Mick Kejda punctured and two other riders found the pace too hot and dropped off the remaining three kept their head down and legs going. Paul Kennedy on holiday from Victoria had joined Peter Evans and Mick Shannon in the break.

The 6:00 minute bunch was sharing the work well with Brian Joyce, Ross Irvin and Garry Doughty all riding strongly. They had the 8:30 riders insight but could not close the gap.

The five riders off the 3:30 mark had also combined well with Dave Russel and Mark Davis powering along. They also had the bunch infront insight but weren’ t closing the gap quickly enough to catch them by the finish.

Cato closed the 2:00 minute gap to the four block riders, a monumental ride by himself, but then hit the wall and dropped off them. The fact that he had ridden to Sydney in the morning may have been a contributing factor.

Kennedy was took quick for Evans in the sprint and Shannon crossing the line 5 seconds later. Irvin led the next bunch home 45 seconds later from Joyce, Pereira and Doughty.

The block bunch caught the 3:30 riders just before the finish, they were led over the line by Mark Wall a further 45 seconds behind the bunch infront. Wall also recorded fastest time of 1:03:43.

There is no local race next week as over thirty riders will be going up to Bredalbane for the Southern Division road titles. The next local race will be a 41.5km scratch race on April 13th, group 6 will be providing marshals.

Results, 41.5km

1 Paul Kennedy                    1.12.59
2 Peter Evans
3 Mick Shannon
4 Ross Irvin                         0.45
5 Brian Joyce             
6 Joe Periera             
7 Garry Doughty                      1.06
8 Reg Hitchens                       1.31
9 Mark Wall                 
10 Andrew Shepherd          
11 Marcus Arnold            
12 Mark Davis               
13 Simon Gay                
14 David Russel             
15 Tony Pulo                
16 Lionel Covington                  2.51
17 Geoff Gooley         
18 Vince O'Dwyer                     5.14
19 Brendan Cato                      8.20
DNF Mick Kejda 
DNF Frank Tortorici 
DNF Peter Jones 
DNF Adam Hotchkis 
DNF Teegan Makowski 
DNF Jason Johnson 
DNF Phil Jones 
Fastest time: Mark Wall - 1.03.30  

Australian results from the past week

North-West Veteran CC Sesquicentenary Road Classic
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Illawarra Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002