Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for APril 6-7, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

NSW Southern Division Road Championships
ACT championships
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Maroubra, April 7, 2002

New Riders Race At Heffron Park

Following a break over the Easter weekend, over seventy senior and junior riders registered for the Randwick Botany Cycling Club Criterium races at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday 6 April 2002.

The recent winner of the Eastern Suburbs Cycling Club - Tuesday night Summer Criterium series - Anthony Spurgeon from Team Caravello, took out the A Grade 36km event. Spurgeon lead into the final straight and kicked away to win by 10m ahead of Randwick Botany's Clive Hammerson, Aaron Castles, Matthew Lucas and junior Randwick Botany rider Robert Cater.

Randwick Botany rider Joseph Sorby tried out in B Grade for the first time in his cycling career having quickly progressed through D and C Grades over recent months. Sorby stayed with the bunch but suffered a puncture on lap three. Chris Jenkins set the pace for most of the 32km, but Brett Watson from the North Sydney Club, in his first race at Heffron Park this year, lead out with 300m to go. Watson maintained the lead to finish first followed by Craig Dempsey from the Eastern Suburbs Club with Jenkins third.

Twenty-seven C Grade riders lined up for a 14 lap race on the 2km circuit. The bunch stayed together for most of the race with few riders willing to break away. Randwick Botany rider Hans Visch, led out in the final sprint with Frank Conceicao close behind. Jason Brenton who was shadowing Conceicao, powered home to take first place followed by Shaun Ballesty, Brad Lane, Frank Conceicao, Greg Smith and Peter Craig.

Several new riders featured in the D Grade 20km race, with Lianne Koh, Warren McDonald and Greg Madden all finishing with the bunch. First home out of the 17 rider bunch was veteran Randwick Botany rider Ron Sproule, followed by Melissa Clarence from the Dulwich Hill club and Peter Nieass. E Grade results, after 17km, was Julia Guinan first, Norman Jew second and Kevin Blanchfield third.

Seven Junior events were conducted, starting with the Under 19 Time Trial over 2km. Best time was recorded by new rider Julian Jarvis in 3.11 minutes. Times in the Under 17 Time Trial after 6km was Keegan Aitchison 10min 21sec and Thomas Murdoch 10min 51sec. The U15 4km Time Trial times were Peter Vea 7.03, Andrew Young 7.32, Mark Woodhouse 7.58, Andrew Powell 7.59. The Under 13 4km Time Trial times were Luke Davison 8.15 and Max Gueniev 9.57. In the Under11 2km Time Trial - Adriano Maradini 4.29, James Warne, 5.7, Nicolas Mellick 5.29.

The Junior A Grade scratch race over 8km was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Michael Murdoch and Thomas Murdoch. The Junior B Grade race over 6km was won by Adriano Maradini, with James Warne second and Nicholas Mellick third.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


A Grade - 36km
1 Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello)
2 Clive Hammerson (Randwick Botany)
3 Aaron Castles (Randwick Botany)
4 Matthew Lucas (Randwick Botany)
5 Robert Cater (Randwick Botany)
B Grade - 32km
1 Brett Watson (North Sydney)
2 Craig Dempsey (Eastern Suburbs)
3 Chris Jenkins(Randwick Botany)
C Grade - 28km
1 Jason Brenton (Randwick Botany)
2 Shaun Ballesty (Randwick Botany) 
3 Brad Lane (Randwick Botany)
D Grade - 20km
1 Ron Sproule (Randwick Botany)
2 Melissa Clarence (Dulwich Hill)
3 Peter Nieass (Randwick Botany)
E Grade - 14km
1 Julia Guinan (Randwick Botany)
2 Norman Jew (Randwick Botany)
3 Kevin Blanchfield (Randwick Botany)
Under 19 Time Trial - 2km
1 Julian Jarvis                     3.11
Under 17 Time Trial - 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison                 10.21
2 Thomas Murdoch                    0.30
Under 15 Time Trial - 4km
1 Peter Vea                         7.03
2 Andrew Young                      0.29
3 Mark Woodhouse                    0.55
4 Andrew Powell                     0.56
Under 13 Time Trial - 4km
1 Luke Davison                      8.15
2 Max Gueniev                       1.42
Under 11 Time Trial - 2km
1 Adriano Maradini                  4.29
2 James Warne                       0.38
3 Nicolas Mellick                   1.00
Junior A Grade - 8km
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Michael Murdoch
3 Thomas Murdoch
Junior B Grade - 6km
1 Adriano Maradini
2 James Warne
3 Nicholas Mellick

Australian results from the past week

North-West Veteran CC Sesquicentenary Road Classic
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Illawarra Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002