Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 13-14, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

West Dapto, April 13, 2002

Another good day for racing saw fifty one riders at West Dapto for the 41.5km scratch races.

With riders of the calibre of Danny Hennessy, Brendan Cato and Paul Forrest in the twenty three rider A grade field it was not a matter of would the bunch be split up but when.

Hennessy fresh from his second place in the ACT road championships the week before was probably the form rider. The three applied the pressure on the climb of Marshal Mount and the others were not able to answer them.

Cato tested the other two riders every time they came to a climb. Forrest succumbed on the final climb up Hooker hill but Hennessy was equal to the task. Cato led back to the finish but Hennessy was too quick in the sprint and took the win. Forrest came in third about twenty seconds later.

Mark Davis had chased hard and was in no man's land for many kilometres until the bunch brought him back just before the finish.

There were still eleven out of the nineteen starters in B grade still in contention at the end of their race.

The bunch had split on the climb up the steep side of Marshall Mount but most of the riders had rejoined the leaders.

Peter Evans tested the riders on more than one occasion but was unable to escape as he had done the week before at the NSW Southern Division road titles.

Lionel Covington again showed his strength by continually bridging gaps and constantly being on the front of the bunch.

Evans commenced the sprint from a long way out with Andrew Telford on his wheel and they paid the price when the riders who had been in their draft blew passed them as the line approached.

Roger Bird was too quick and won comfortably. Mick Shannon was just able to hold off a determined Covington for second and third.

Terry Welsh was too strong for the other eight riders in C grade and he was able to break away and time trial almost 30km to record a convincing win.

First timer Bobby Krstevski rode very well in second position on the road for nearly the whole race distance and collected a well deserved second place in his first race.

Jaclyn Kejda and Vince O'Dwyer rode a two person time trial for nearly the entire race with Kejda crossing the line first to collect third place.

Results - 41.5km Scratch race

A Grade
1 Danny Hennessy                1.00.55
2 Brendan Cato
3 Paul Forrest
4 Josh Wall                        2.13
5 Mark Davis
6 Luke Dale
7 Tim Morris
8 Simon Gay
9 David Russel
10 Dylan Forbes
11 Marcus Arnold
12 Paul Hooper
13 Guy Mathiske
14 Peter Jones
15 Mark Scott                      3.47
16 Frank Tortorici
17 Adam Hotchkis
18 Adam Crowther
19 Garry Doughty
20 Joe McDonnell
21 Mark Wall                       5.37
Dnf Grant Law
Dnf Richie Lorenc
B Grade
1 Roger Bird                    1.06.49
2 Mick Shannon
3 Lione Covington
4 Ross Irvin
5 Joe Periera
6 Brian Joyce
7 Jeff Gray
8 Dave Morris
9 Hubert Driehus
10 Peter Evans
11 Andrew Telford
12 Tony Pulo                       2.53
13 Phil Jones                      7.09
14 Peter Kelly
Dnf Neil Midgley
Dnf Scott Turnbull
Dnf Jason Johnson
Dnf Patrick Delahunty
Dnf Mick Kejda
C Grade
1 Terry Welsh                  01.14.42
2 Bobby Krstevski                  0.11
3 Jaclyn Kejda                     1.50
4 Vince O'Dwyer
5 Jackko Laajokki                  5.20
Dnf James Stephens
Dnf Teegan Makowski
Dnf Reg Hitchens
Dnf Bill Biddle

Australian results from the past week

NSW Southern Division Road Championships
ACT championships
Illawarra CC
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002