Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Women's Results
Men's Results
Start List
2003 World Cups
2002 Women
2002 Men
Competitive Cyclist
Chain Reaction
Full Speed Ahead
Look Cycle

Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt - CDM / 1.3

Germany, August 31, 2003

Start List    Map    Women's Results    Men's Results

Women's World Cup Round 8: Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt

Ullrich, Zabel and McEwen to battle it out in men's 1.3 event

By Jeff Jones

This Sunday will see the penultimate round of the Women's World Cup held in Nürnberg, Germany. The "Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt" will be the last chance for anyone with World Cup ambitions to try and dethrone Nicole Cooke (Ausra Gruodis), who has won three races this year and sits at the top of the table with 282 points. Three riders: Sara Carrigan (Powerplate Bik, 164 pts), Mirjam Melchers (Farm Frites-Hartol, 159 pts) and Judith Arndt (Nürnberger, 157 pts) are capable of bridging the gap to Cooke with good results this weekend and next weekend in Rotterdam. However with only 75 points for a win, it will take a very good effort from one of these riders to catch the young Welsh woman.

The race starts at 9:30am and takes place over 9 laps of a 13 kilometre circuit for a total of 117 kilometres. The circuit loops around the city of Nürnberg, taking in some of its main attractions, and a large crowd is expected to be in attendance. There is a short (600m) climb each lap which will certainly sap the energy out of a few legs.

After the women finish at approximately 12:30, there will be an Elite Men's UCI 1.3 race run over 180 kilometres, using the same circuit. Division I teams Telekom (Erik Zabel), Bianchi (Jan Ullrich), Gerolsteiner (Olaf Pollack) and Lotto-Domo (Robbie McEwen) should have a strong showing, although Division II teams Wiesenhof (Heppner) and De Nardi (Gontchar) will try to steal the limelight.

Past Winners


2002 Jenny Algelid (Swe) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
2001 Jenny Algelid (Swe) Equipe Nürnberger    


2002 Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom
2001 Olaf Pollack (Ger)
2000 Raphael Schweda (Ger)
1999 Jens Zemke (Ger)
1998 Jan Ullrich (Ger)
1997 Michael Holst-Kyneb (Den)
1996 Jan Schaffrath (Ger) Elite
1995 Fabio Baldato (Ita)
1994 Andreas Walzer (Ger) Elite
1993 Steffen Rein (Ger) Amateur
1992 Bert Dietz (Ger) Amateur
1991 Stephan Gottschling (Ger) Amateur