Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Tour Home
Latest Tour News
Stages & Results
Live coverage
Tour Tech
Floyd Landis diary
Brad McGee diary
John Eustice diary
Mike Tomalaris diary
Podium girl gone bad
Other diaries
Tour FAQ
Le Tour 2001
Power Tap

89th Tour de France - Grand Tour

France, July 6-28, 2002

Tour de France news for June 12, 2002

Edited by Jeff Jones

Lotto-Adecco-ABX preliminary Tour de France team

The nine riders who will form the Lotto-Adecco-ABX team for the Tour de France have been selected on a provisional basis. The team is a balanced one, with Robbie McEwen in as the team's main sprinter, Kurt Van De Wouwer as as the main GC rider, and Rik Verbrugghe is a potential stage winner. Verbrugghe recently finished 9th in the Giro d'Italia, after battling sickness in the early stages and a knee injury in the final week, while McEwen won two stages and retired after stage 10.

The rest of the Lotto-Adecco-ABX team is as follows: Mario Aerts, Serge Baguet (stage winner last year), Christophe Brandt, Hans De Clercq, Guennadi Mikhailov, Kurt Van De Wouwer, and Aart Vierhouten. The reserves are Glenn D'Hollander, Thierry Marichal, Kurt Van Lancker, Ief Verbrugghe and Stefan Van Dijk.


back to top