Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Glenvale Crescent, Mulgrave, October 12, 2003

By Mal Sawford

B Grade get set for the finish
Photo: © Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Round Two of the Team Alex Summer Series brought good fields out to contest all grades. The morning after the epic Melbourne to Warrnambool Classic, well won by Club rider Simon Gerrans, saw a number of deservedly weary riders rest their legs. With riders of the caliber of Scott Guyton (, Shepparton's Leigh Egan (Giant), Joel Pearson (Team MG-ZT) and week 1 winner Robert Crowe (BikeNOW) on the start line, the race still promised to be tough.

'Sugar' Ray Turner also put in his first appearance since last summer, but before he could launch his customary attack from the start line Andrew Steele (Le Tour Cycles) stole his thunder! It took a few laps for a chase to be organized, and when Steele was reeled in, team mate Jamie Goddard counter attacked. Martin Bole followed while the bunch looked at each other, only to see Guyton, Pearson and Paul Richards charge across to the leaders.

As the leading five began to extend their advantage, the stronger riders remaining in the peleton began to try to bridge the gap. None succeeded, but the chasing group was split into two groups of ten, and the break began to pull away.

Goddard lost contact with the leaders, and at the 40 minute mark, the four leaders closed in on the tail of the second chase group, with the remaining chasers only twenty seconds further ahead. Guyton and Pearson bridged the gap, and were content to ride with the group. Behind, Bole and Richards were tantalizingly close to the leaders but couldn't quite manage to take the lap.

The finish saw Pearson too quick for the climber Guyton, with the sprint for third taken out by Richards over Bole. Big Leigh Egan led the bunch home in fifth, just ahead of Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles), keeping Crowey out of the points this week.

B Grade had the biggest field of the day, and despite many attempts, no-one could escape the attentive bunch. Danny Weatherley and Eddy Perez weren't afraid to have a go, but after forty-five minutes, most riders had realized a bunch gallop was the order of the day.

Last week's winner, Peter Ballas, once again positioned himself well, and was the early leader in the dash to the line. His jump had been a little early, however, and David Taylor (The Freedom Machine) timed his run better to take a good win. David Buntin (Team Alex) did the series sponsor proud with his third, ahead of Cameron Hunter. Vanessa Crawford (Mainline Cyclesport) stretched her legs after a day in the car following her partner to Warrnambool by taking out the premier Women's division ahead of MTB star Jenni King.

An early attack from Dion Warburton and Richard Cormick looked threatening in C Grade, with the pair holding off the field until the thirty minute mark. Ivan Collings tried to slip away in the closing stages, but once again the sprinters prevailed, with Matt Jensen (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) earning promotion to B Grade with his second win in succession, and claiming the overall lead in the Team Alex standings.

Cormick's early efforts hadn't blunted his speed, and he sprinted into second, ahead of Boyd Friis and Matthew Lawless. Cheryl Walker led the Women home, ahead of Triathlon Champion Emma Carney (Fitzroy Cycles), who had been prominent at the front of the field all day.

Women's cycling continues to go from strength to strength, with almost a quarter of the D Grade field of the fairer sex. None could match Ferne Walklate's outright second of last week however, with the Juniors in control at the finish. Another notable pair of entries was the Grandfather and Grandson team of Bill Bowker and Grant Bowker-Bell.

Simon Lancaster sprinted home to a good win, ahead of week 1 winner Michael Downing (Le Tour Cycles). Scott Deane took third ahead of Renato Liucci. Walklate took the Women's win, and extended her lead for the Alex Women's prize, with Melissa Nicholls and Erin Downing claiming the minor places.

Once again, thanks to the generous support of PowerBar Australia, all competitors received a Protein Plus bar to speed up their post race recovery.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway (on the V8 Supercar Circuit) commences with daylight savings on Tuesday October 28. All holders of 2003 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2004 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 29 starters
1 Joel Pearson (Warragul)
2 Scott Guyton (New Zealand)
3 Paul Richards (Warragul)
4 Martin Bole (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Leigh Egan (Sheparton)
6 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 53 starters
1 David Taylor (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Peter Ballas (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 David Buntin (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Cameron Hunter (Blackburn)
5 Thomas Blazevic (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Vanessa Crawford (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Jenni King (Hawthorn)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 3 laps, 29 starters
1 Matt Jensen (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Boyd Friis (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Matthew Lawless (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Emma Carney (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 3 laps, 34 starters
1 Simon Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Michael Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Scott Deane (St Kilda)
4 Renato Liucci (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Ferne Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Melissa Nichols (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Erin Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
E Grade Novice & Junior Clinic, 40 minutes + 3 laps
1 Steve Leishman (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Alex Bowyer (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Dale Reith (Blackburn)

Australian results from the past week

Bendigo and District CC Championships
St Kilda CC
Warrnambool CC Club Championships
St Lukes Health Veterans CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
H. Westbrook Memorial Launceston to Hobart
Canberra Cycling Club

Complete Australian results for 2003