snowy mountains


Stages & Results

Overall Map

Starting List





Rider profiles    Starting list

Rider profiles

Click for larger image
Anna Millward

Anna (Wilson) Millward, Australia's Commonwealth Games gold medallist and after two fourth's in the Olympic Games, is keen to display her great form and regain her world number one ranking. She remains Australia's best chance of victory. Millward will be racing for the Saturn team along with Australian Time Trial champion and new Saturn signing, Kristy Scrymgeour.

Emma Carney, the sensational triathlete, has her first serious international cycling event when she lines up with a very polished VIS Jayco team, including 1997 World Championship silver medallist Elizabeth Tadich.
Click for larger image
Alison Wright

The AIS team is also a very powerful team and Alison Wright, who crashed across the finish line to win the final stage in Cooma last year, is hoping for a more comfortable for the 2001 event in Cooma this year. Alison is joined in the AIS team by Sara Carrigan, Margaret Hemsley, Hayley Rutherford, Kim Shirley and Karen Sumpton.

The GAS Sport team, with the World Champion Zinaida Stahurskaia on board and some excellent climbers, could be the hardest team to beat but there are some top European, USA and New Zealand stars.
Click for larger image
Mirjam Melchers

Mirjam Melchers, a triple stage winner from Holland will be racing for the GSF Acca Due O trade team, and the line up is truly international. Based in Italy, the former Dream Team has also Vera Hohlfield of Germany, Priska Doppmann of Switzerland and Giovanni Troldi of Italy. Melchers finished 5th in the World road title last year while Doppmann finished 14th.

The appropriately named Carpe Diem-Itera is another Italian based trade team comprising four star Italians including Sigrid Corneo, and two seasoned Americans in Kerry Hellmuth and Lara Ruthven.

Sarah Ulmer and the very talented Suzy Pryde, both World cycling stars from New Zealand, lead a wonderful trade team from America, the team. Pryde, a stage winner in previous Tours, is supported by Canadian Annie Gariepy, and World Cup stars Kim Smith and Pam Schuster.
Click for larger image
Mari Holden (and friends)

Mari Holden, winner of several stages on the Tour de Snowy and current world time trial champion heads her new Alfa Lum team which is also a very powerful unit. Holden is teamed with Sara Felloni of Italy, Fany Lecourtois from France, and Ukraine star Tatiana Stiajkina. Stiajkina, only 23 years old, has been a top ten finisher in the past two world title appearances and finished in the leading group at the Sydney Olympics.

Miho Oki, a Sydney Olympian is with Kanako Nishi and Mutsumi Fugino to form the Japanese team while New Zealand has a very strong international team headed by Olympian Rosalind Reekie-May.

After completing the rigorous five day Tour de Snowy, the cyclists will line up in the Canberra World Cup on Saturday March 10, 2001.

The racing will be covered extensively by C7 Sports, SBS and most networks with race coverage of the Tour de Snowy beamed to more than 140 countries, including a one hour documentary.

For further information, contact Phill Bates Sports Promotions: +61 2 95425699.

Starting List

Saturn                          GAS Sport
1 Anna Millward (Aus)           5 Gabriella Pregnolato (Ita)
2 Kristy Scrymgeour (Aus)       6 Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)
3 Anke Erlank (RSA)             7 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr)
4 Kimberly Bruckner (USA)       8 Silvia Parietti (Ita)
Acca Due O - Hewlett Packard    Carpe Diem - Itera
9 Priska Doppmann (Swi)         13 Ljudmila Corneo (Ita)
10 Vera Hohlfeld (Ger)          14 Sigrid Corneo (Ita)
11 Mirjam Melchers (Ned)        15 Vera Carrara (Ita)
12 Giovanna Troldi (Ita)        16 Luisana Pegoraro (Ita)
                                17 Kerry Hellmuth (USA)
                                18 Lara Ruthven (USA)                  Alfa Lum R.S.M.
19 Sarah Ulmer (NZl)            24 Mari Holden (USA)
20 Susy Pryde (NZl)             25 Sara Felloni (Ita)
21 Annie Gariepy (Can)          26 Fany Lecourtois (Fra)
22 Kim Smith (USA)              27 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr)
23 Pam Shuster (USA)
AIS                             Japan Cycling Federation
28 Sara Carrigan (Aus)          34 Kanako Nishi (Jap)
29 Margaret Hemsley (Aus)       35 Miho Oki (Jap)
30 Hayley Rutherford (Aus)      36 Mutsumi Fugino (Jap)
31 Kim Shirley (Aus)
32 Karen Sumpton (Aus)
33 Alison Wright (Aus)
Jayco VIS                       New Zealand
37 Elizabeth Tadich (Aus)       43 Rosalind Reekie-May (NZl)
38 Katie Mactier (Aus)          44 Vanessa Cheatley (NZl)
39 Jessica Amy (Aus)            45 Melissa Holt (NZl)
40 Naomi Williams (Aus)         46 Kirsty Robb (NZl)
41 Helen Kelly (Aus)            47 Nora Moeke (NZl)
42 Emma Carney (Aus)                  Cycles Melbourne
48 Victoria Kirkby (Aus)        54 Julie Hooper (Aus)
49 Emma Rikards (Aus)           55 Louisa Hamilton-White (Aus)
50 Alex Harrison (Aus)          56 Sue McCarthy (Aus)
51 Rebecca Cleveland (Aus)      57 Mary Rogers (Aus)
52 Katie Knight (Aus)
53 Rebecca McConnell (Aus)
NSWIS Trek Team                 Australian Regional
58 Natalie Bates (Aus)          64 Erin Philp (Aus)
59 Kate Bates (Aus)             65 Rebecca Locke (Aus)
60 Mary Grigson (Aus)           66 Sophie Freshwater (Aus)
61 Emma James (Aus)             67 Jeanette Schwarz (Aus)
62 Olivia Gollan (Aus)          68 Tania Shipton (Aus)
63 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus)
69 Natasha Harrigan (Aus)
70 Jennifer Manefield (Aus)
71 Simone Poulos (Aus)
72 Bridget Evans (Aus)
73 Belinda Probert (Aus)
74 Julia Busquets (Aus)

The Tour de Snowy Internet site is brought to you by

back to top