Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results and Reports for April 20-21, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Ready Hire 24 Hour Mountain Bike Team Challenge

Kooralbyn, April 21, 2002

Gold Coast's Michael Skroblin helped his team to a comfortable lead in the Ready Hire 24 Hour Mountain Bike Challenge this weekend at Kooralbyn, April 20-21, 2002. The four man team completed 83 laps over the 24 hour period riding through the night to beat Brisbane's six man team containing Holland's Runar Broste. The fastest lap of 15.41 was ridden by Michael Skroblin during the first lap of the race on Saturday. He bettered his brother Mark's record time in last year's event. The youngest member of a four person team which included his brother Mark, Jordan Vogel and Jody Waters. Skroblin has proved his berth in the Australian mountain bike team for the World Championships was warranted. He placed in the National Titles in Thredbo and heads overseas in August to race in France followed by the Worlds in Austria.

They compete alongside two hundred other cyclists making it the biggest Queensland mountain biking event. Teams of two, four or six people from New Zealand, Sydney and as far north as Bundaberg were all vying for the trophy.

Six individual riders contested the event including one female Belinda McIntyre who completed 32 laps. Winner was Simon Bowen from Brisbane who completed 42 laps just five laps ahead of Finnish rider Jukka Yunen from Coffs Harbour. Gold Coast's, Brad Connor found it difficult backing up after completing the Forster Ironman just two weeks prior and finished fourth on 36 laps ahead of Sydney's Dave Shailer on 22 laps.

The Ready Hire 24 Hour Mountain Bike Challenge is in its second year and has a large number of corporate and social teams competing alongside hardened mountain bikers. The next event is a 12 hour Mountain Bike Challenge in August.


Solo Men
1 Simon Bowen             42 laps
2 Jukka Ylinen            37
3 Brad Connor             36
5 Dave Shailer            22
Solo Women
1 Belinda Mcintyre        32 laps
Overall Teams
1 Nerang Cycles                                                    83 laps
 (Jordan Vogel, Mark Skroblin,
 Jody Waters, Michael Skroblin)
2 P-Co Train                                                       83
 (Jeromy Claridge, Peter Herzig, Mike Maloneu, 
 David Penhaligon, Andrew Penhaligon, Runar Broste)
3 Spartans                                                         82
 (Peter Janssen, Aubrey Clarke, Mat Smith,
 Tim Polson, John Forbes, Cam Rogers)
Two Man Teams
1 Trek (I Stewart, J Spackman)                                     71 laps
2 Uncomfortably Numb (P Haywood, R Gibbons)                        35
3 K & T (T Pursey, K Prior)                                        25
Four Person Teams
1 Nerang Cycles (J Vogel, M Skroblin, J Waters, M Skroblin)        83 laps
2 Team Toitoise Three (G Mcintyre, J Rowe, M Huggers, A Wegener)   74
3 We Just Want The Sox (S Wode, A Bale, B Davis, A Mallet)         73
Six Person Teams
1 P-Co Train                                                       83 laps
 (J Claridge, P Herzig, M Maloney, 
 D Penhaligon, A Penhaligon, R Broste)
2 Spartans                                                         82
 (P Janssen, A Clarke, M Smith,
 T Polson, J Forbes, C Rogers)
3 Teenage Dirtbags Except Two                                      78
 (J Keep, R Brand, N Federicks,
 A Brown, S Tate, D Pursey)

Australian results from the past week

Illawarra Cycle Club
Murwillumbah Cycle Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
Carnegie Caulfield Criterium
Canberra Cycling Club - round 1
Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium

Complete Australian results for 2002