Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

US Cyclocross Championships - CN

Providence, RI, USA, December 9-11, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings         Live report    Previous Race  Next Race

Race 8 - December 10: U 23 Men

Wells takes U23 title

Troy Wells has knocked reigning under-23 champion Jesse Anthony off his perch to take the espoirs US national cyclocross title. Wells executed a technically solid race to hold off Anthony, who flatted on the first lap, and to outpedal Brent Bookwalter, who clung to third place after winning the national collegiate title earlier in the day. After losing significant time to a flat, Anthony succeeded in working his way back into second place yet in the end he could never close the gap on Wells, whose consistency earned him the win.

"On the first lap I tried to start pretty hard so that I could stay out of trouble," Wells said. "I actually followed Brent around for two laps to learn the course because I only got to ride one lap and after Brent fell I kind of went to the front and tried to stay consistent and keep my gap at a consistent rate."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Ed Collier/Ed Collier Photography

  • U23 Champion Troy Wells on the run-up.
  • Jesse Anthony on the run-up.
  • Troy Wells rolls over a small rise in the "Candy Dish."
  • Troy Wells looks a bit tired with only one lap to go.
  • Troy Wells gets some encouragement from his brother Todd, who would later go on to win the elite men's championship!
  • Troy Wells with both arms raised in victory!
  • Troy Wells gets congratulated by brother Todd and sister-in-law Meg.
  • Every inch of Brent Bookwalter's U23 third place is shown on his face.

Images by Marek Lazarski/www.lazarskiphoto.com

Images by Keli Medcroft/www.keliskolor.com

Images by Russ and Nancy Wright/www.abbiorca.com


U23 Men, 28 starters, 19.2km                                                  
1 Troy Wells (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                        54.23
2 Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar)                                           0.20
3 Brent Bookwalter (Easton/KONA)                                          0.45
4 Morgan Schmitt (Redline)                                                2.32
5 Adam McGrath (Redline)                                                  4.23
6 Brady Kappius (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                      4.58
7 Daniel Neyens (RAD Racing NW)                                               
8 Justin Lindine (Windham Mountain Outfitters)                                
9 Mitchell Peterson (Balance Bar/Devo)                                        
10 Nicholas Weighall (Alan Factory Team)                                      
11 Brian Hayes (RGM Watches- RICHARD SACHS - HUDSON VALLEY VELODROME)         
12 Charles Marzot (Dartmouth College)                                         
13 Luke Brechwald (Rad Racing)                                                
One lap behind                                                                
14 Colt McElwaine (Independent Fabrications)                                  
15 Morgan Macleod (Mechanical Services/Cycle Mania)                           
16 William Dugan (BCA/Vomax)                                                  
17 Jon Belcher (Trek/VW/New England)                                          
18 Peter Stetina (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                         
19 Sean Noonan                                                                
20 Patrick Goguen (NCC/Bikereg.com)                                           
21 Joey Rogerson (Rad Racing Northwest)                                       
22 Jamie Pair (Independent Fabrication)                                       
23 Chris Worden (Watchung Wheelmen)                                           
DNF Zak Grabowski (TIAA-CREF/CLIF BAR)                                        
DNF Tyler Crabtree                                                            
DNF Mikkel Bossen (TeamOregon)                                                
DNF Adam Snyder (team devo)                                                   
DNF Taylor Kneuven (Broadmark Capital/CU Cycling)  

Back to top