Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Rosebery Athletic Club Carnival

Saturday, December 21, 2002

Hartley's got heart

By Rod Morris

A switch from triathlon to track racing is paying instant dividends for Boat Harbour 20 year-old Adam Hartley.

In blistering 30-degrees plus heat, Hartley added his name to the Rosebery Wheelrace honour boards with a gutsy ride in the final. Riding from an advantageous mark of 240m, Hartley and a group of "switched on" front markers, had the pressure on right from the very start of the final.

There was no shortage of talent at the back of the field either, with Tasmanian Nathan Clarke and American Jame Carney riding from scratch and Daniel Cutting, Gareth Atkins, Karl Menzies and Stephen Pearce just in front of them and coming together to form a speedy group.

But there wasn't quite enough speed in them, although Clarke did get up for third. Diminuitive Launceston based rider, Dwayne "Kenny" Smith, took up the challenge to Hartley, but got pipped on the line in the sprint finish.

Earlier in the day Hartley started the carnival with victory in the 1000m Lightning Handicap, while he also claimed third in the C Grade Scratch behind Jason Bellchambers and veteran Fred Guilbert.

Carney found success in the A Grade Elimination, justifying his decision not to race in the Australian Madison Championships at Melbourne's Vodafone Arena with fellow American Mike Tillman, who looks in good shape on the eve of the Telstra Country Wide Tasmanian Christmas Carnivals Series.

Nathan Clarke made a bold move two laps from home to reel in a small breakaway group in the A Grade Scratch, while Launceston's Ian Leighton won the B Grade Scratch.

It was an emotional return to Rosebery for Leighton, who, in 1992, was involved in a spectacular crash, which saw his bike fold up like a concertina door. That bike now hangs in his trophy room.

In junior racing, Rosebery Wheelrace winners include Matthew Bonham (J1), Will Robinson (J2) and Jake Laskey (J3).

The next major event on the Tasmanian cycling calendar will be the Latrobe Carnival on Boxing Day, kick starting the Christmas week of festivities, which includes carnivals at Launceston, Devonport and Burnie.


Pasminco Rosebery Wheelrace 2000m
1 Adam Hartley (240)       2.13.47
2 Dwayne Smith (220)
3 Nathan  Clarke (scr)
4 Stephen Pearce (90)
Open 1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Adam Hartley (110)       1.05.99
2 Andrew Loft (45)
3 Karl Menzies (40)
4 Michael Johnson (90)
A Grade Scratch, 8000m
1 Nathan Clarke           10.08.77
2 Jame Carney
3 Gareth Atkins
4 Stephen Pearce
A Grade Elimination
1 Jame Carney
2 Daniel Cutting
3 Gareth Atkins
4 Mike Tillman
B Grade Scratch, 5000m
1 Ian Leighton             6.11.30
2 Laurie Venn
3 Michael Johnson
4 Ryan Johnson
C Grade Scratch, 5000m
1 Jason Bellchambers       6.36.22
2 Fred Guilbert
3 Adam Hartley
4 Colin Barnes
Invitation Women's Wheelrace
1 Carrie Price (140)       2.50.37
2 Sarah Eaves (150)
3 Kailee Goodwin (140)
4 Angela Klyne (55)
Junior 1 2000 m Wheelrace
1 Matthew Bonham (100)     2.34.87
2 Cameron Flint (30)
3 Jarrod Harman (80)
4 Tim Walker (60)
Junior 2 2000 m Wheelrace
1 Will Robinson (scr)      2.45.03
2 Tom Robinson (130)
3 Carrie Price (230)
4 Sean Oliver (100)
Junior 3 1000 m Wheelrace
1 Jake Laskey (110)        1.25.00
2 Carissa Ling (140)
3 Brenden Sutton (scr)
4 Alitta Laskey (90)
Junior 1 1000 m Handicap
1 Matthew Bonham (50)      1.16.13
2 Cameron Flint (15)
3 Carolyn Cunningham (130)
4 Jarrod Harman (40)
Junior 2 1000 m Handicap
1 Angela Klyne (75)        1.15.89
2 Aaron Jones (65)
3 Tom Robinson (65)
4 Will Robinson (scr)
Junior 3 1000 m Handicap
1 Jake Laskey (110)        1.25.47
2 Jacob Fielding (130)
3 Alitta Laskey (90)
4 Carissa Ling (140)
Junior 1 Scratch
1 Cameron Flint            5.46.26
2 Jarrod Harman
3 Matthew Bonham
4 Tim Walker
Junior 2 Scratch
1 Alex Holden              4.04.10
2 Will Robinson
3 Sean Oliver
4 Tom Robinson
Junior 3 Scratch
1 Brenden Sutton           3.11.34 
2 Ed Robinson
3 Matt Laskey
4 Alitta Laskey
Previous Australian Results