Home   Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Home & preview


 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing

The Sid Patterson Grand Prix - IM

Vodafone Arena, Melbourne, Australia, March 29, 2003

2002 Results    Past winners    Sid Patterson GP    Champion of Champions    Other races


Darren Young
Photo: © Mikkeli Godfree
Click for larger image

Australian cycling legend Sid Patterson will be honoured on Saturday night with the third hosting of the Sid Patterson Grand Prix, to be held at Vodafone Arena commencing at 7pm. Patterson was a fearsome and feared competitor, winning World and Australian Championships during his career.

In light of his success on the track, a Champion of Champions event has been established in his honour, whereby the place getters in all the major Wheelraces in Australia have been invited to contest the Champion of Champions final, which will crown the best wheelrace rider in Australia. This novel concept will see the cream of Australian cycling all on the track at the one time, in an attempt to become the Fitzroy Cycles Champion of Champions.

The Champion of Champions event will also be supported by the Business Objects Sid Patterson Grand Prix, a race format whereby riders qualify for the Grand Prix final by finishing in the top 5 of their graded scratch races. A strong field will be on hand to contest the night's racing, including recent Austral Winner Darren Young, Junior World Champion Mark Jamieson and young Daniel Thorsen who destroyed his bike after hitting the track in excess of 70 km/h two weeks ago.

The night will also feature an Aces Sprint derby between the speed demons, which will see them go head to head in a four-lap blast around the 250m board track inside Vodafone Arena.

Lyndelle Higginson, 2000 Sydney Olympian will return to the track to continue her rivalry with one of the up and coming riders of the sport, Lizzie Williams, the current National Criterium Champion.

Past winners

Sid Patterson Grand Prix

2002 Brett Aitken (South Australia) 
2001 Tommy Nankervis (Victoria)

Sid Patterson Champion of Champions

2002 Tommy Nankervis (Victoria)

back to top