Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

2005 Deaflympics - Cycling

Melbourne, Australia, January 5-16, 2005

Reece-Emerson van Beek is a deaf cyclist who recently competed at the Deaflympics in Melbourne - he won two gold medals - in the time trial and the men's 50 km points race. He won the latter convincingly, and this report by Reece-Emerson offers us a view of the level of competition from Melbourne.

Trevor Kosa (USA)
Photo ©: Robin Horwitz
Click for larger image

At the start all riders were extremely tired, but the pace was much faster than I expected. American Trevor Kosa was the favorite for this event, while the Italian, French and Czech riders were trying to take control of the race. Us Australian riders were sprinting every two laps with a bell. Somehow, Jarrod Denman, an 18-year-old from Brisbane, and myself were able to sneak out on the side of the bunch and create a big solo breakaway.

We worked together in the closing laps, earning a lot of points. I was heading the points table with Jarrod sitting in fourth, so the time had come to help him increase his number of points in contention for the silver medal. At the finish I had collected 52 points, Jarrod 44 points and the US rider Trevor Kosa finished with 42 points.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mathew Kohashi


US riders featured
Photo ©: Robin Horwitz
Click for larger image
Men's Sprint Semi Final
1 Trevor Kosa (USA)                 
2 Julius Matovcik (Svk)             
3 Gerald Mielke-Weyel (Ger)         
4 Luca Buontempo (Ita)              
Men's Sprint Final
Gold & Silver
1 Trevor Kosa (USA)                 
2 Gerald Mielke-Weyel (Ger)         
Bronze & Fourth
1 Julius Matovcik (Svk)             
2 Luca Buontempo (Ita)              
5th-8th Placed Final
1 Jarrod Denman (Aus)               
2 Jan Capek (Cze)                   
3 Pavel Pastrnek (Cze)              
4 Samo Petrac (Svk)                 
Raise the bike!
Photo ©: Robin Horwitz
Click for larger image
Men's 50km Points Race
1 Reece-Emerson Van Beek (Aus)    54 pts
2 Jarrod Denman (Aus)             44
3 Trevor Kosa (Usa)               42
4 Jan Capek (Cze)                 24
5 Bernard Braugola (Fra)          15
6 David Cloux (Fra)               11
7 Luigi Cucco (Ita)               11
8 Josef Merunk (Cze)               8
9 Andrea Dissegna (Ita)            8
10 Frantisek Kocourek (Cze)        8
Men's Time Trial
1 Reece-Emerson Van Beek (Aus)    43.52
2 Gerald Meilke-Weyel (Ger)        0.42
3 Frantisek Kocourek (Cze)         0.43
4 Paride Pandolfi (Ita)            0.47
5 Josef Merunka (Cze)              1.04
6 Michael Stankovic (Aus)          1.24
7 Pavel Pastrnek (Cze)             1.39
8 David Cloux (Fra)                1.43
9 Jan Capek (Cze)                  1.46
10 Luigi Cucco (Ita)               2.30
11 Jarrod Denman (Aus)             2.48
12 John King (Aus)                 3.02
13 Libor Cizak (Cze)               3.41
14 Gerard Michel (Fra)             3.42
15 Bernard Braugola (Fra)          3.53
16 Ryan Macdonald (Can)            3.53
17 Luca Buontempo (Ita)            4.26
18 Rory Osbrink (USA)              4.11
19 Julius Matovcik (Svk)           4.25
20 Andrea Dissegna (Ita)           5.44
Men's 100km Road Race
1 David Cloux (Fra)                2.57.00
2 Bernard Braugola (Fra)               
3 Luigi Cucco (Ita)                0.04
4 Gerard Michel (Fra)                  
5 Jan Capek (Cze)                  0.04
6 Trevor Kosa (USA)                0.06
7 Libor Cizak (Cze)                0.07
8 Reece-Emerson Van Beek (Aus)     0.08
9 Ryan Macdonald (Can)             0.09
10 Julius Matovcik (Svk)           0.10

Local results 2004