Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Amsterdam Six Day - 6D

Netherlands, October 18-23, 2004

2003 Results    Preview    Start List     Past winners


Winter Six Day season kicks off in Amsterdam

The 12th Six Days of Amsterdam, between October 18-23, marks the first of the winter Six Day races. It also heralds a new era for track cycling, as from now on track cycling at the elite level will be run as a winter sport, including the World Cups and World Championships. With a more compact calendar, most of the important track races will take place between October and March.

The Amsterdam Six will see 13 teams take the start, headed by last year's champions, Dutchmen Robert Slippens and Danny Stam. Also present are the in-form Swiss Bruno Risi and Kurt Betschart; Italian duo Marco Villa and Giovanni Lombardi; Australian/Swiss combo Scott McGrory and Franco Marvulli; and some interesting road-track combinations with Max van Heeswijk and Jimmi Madsen, and Frank Vandenbroucke and Matthew Gilmore pairing up. Vandenbroucke will ride in Amsterdam, Munich and Gent this season, and will certainly be a big crowd puller.

In addition to the paired teams, there will also be a sprint competition - the Grand Prix Jan Derksen - featuring World Champion Theo Bos. In May this year, Bos became the first Dutch World Spring Champion for 33 years and went on to take the silver medal at the Olympics in Athens. His opponents in Amsterdam will include Germans René Wolff and Jan van Eijden, and Bos' compatriot Martin Benjamin.

The Union Internationale des Velodromes will again be promoting the UIV Madison Cup for Under 23 riders, with the first leg to be run in Amsterdam.

Start list

1 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)
2 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)
3 Marco Villa/Giovanni Lombardi (Ita)
4 Stefan van Dijk (Ned)/Franz Stocher (Aut)
5 Scott McGrory (Aus)/Franco Marvulli (Swi)
6 Max van Heeswijk (Ned)/Jimmi Madsen (Den)
7 Matthew Gilmore/Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel)
8 Aart Vierhouten (Ned)/Andreas Beikirch (Ger)
9 Francis de Jager/Jens Mouris (Ned)
10 Matthé Pronk/Jos Pronk (Ned)
11 Peter Schep (Ned)/Steven De Neef (Bel)
12 Gerd Dörich/Christian Grassmann (Ger)
13 Iljo Keisse/Wouter van Mechelen (Bel)

Sprint Cup  (GP Jan Derksen)

Theo Bos (Ned)
Martin Benjamin (Ned)
René Wolff (Ger)
Jan van Eijden (Ger)

Mini 3 days for Juniors

1 Yorick Bos/Bjorn Perlee (Ned)
2 Raymond Kreder/Barry Markus (Ned)
3 Sander Kreder/Wesley Kreder (Ned)
5 Damien Spierings/Michael Vingerling (Ned)
7 Roy Pieters/Martijn Stoop (Ned)
9 Jeffrey Kuijpers/Thomas Polak (Ned)
10 Bert Jan Lindeman/Marc Moes (Ned)
11 Christian Kos/Ramon Windt (Ned)
12 Jesper Asselman/Kevin Schoneveldt (Ned)

International UIV Cup

1 Georg Tazreiter/Andreas Graf (Aut)
2 Kenny de Ketele/Steve Schets (Bel)
3 Pavel Subrt/Marek Mixa (Cze)
4 Michael Berling/Alex Rasmussen (Den)
5 Patrick Betz/Daniel Schlegel (Ger)
6 Matt Brammeier/Tom White (GBr)
7 Geert-Jan Jonkman/Wim Stroetinga (Ned)
8 Kevin Sluimer/Niki Terpstra (Ned)
9 Tim van der Zanden/Levi Heimans (Ned)
10 René Schibl/Peter Andres SWI
11 Patrick Kos (Bel)/Davy Tuijtens (Ned)
12 David Gisiger/Thierry Fodère (Fra)

Past winners

2003 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)
2002 Silvio Martinello (Ita)/Marco Villa (Ita)
2001 Matthew Gilmore (Bel)/Scott McGrory (Aus)
1969 Peter Post (Ned)/Romain DeLoof (Bel)
1968 Jan Janssen (Ned)/Klaus Bugdahl (Ger)
1967 Palle Lykke (Den)/Freddy Eugen (Den)
1966 Peter Post (Ned)/Fritz Pfenninger (Swi)
1936 Adolphe Charlier (Bel)/Frans Slaats (Ned)
1934 Paul Broccardo (Fra)/M. Guimbretière (Fra)
1933 Jan Pijnenburg (Ned)/Cor Wals (Ned)