Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Scott Dustan Memorial George Town Wheelrace

Tasmania, December 4, 2004

Wheelrace comeback for Cutting

By Rod Morris

Turning the clock back eight years, Devonport based Daniel Cutting returned to the winner's circle at the George Town Carnival. Cutting, who is in great shape leading into the Tasmanian summer of cycling carnivals, was an impressive winner of the Scott Dustan Memorial George Town Wheelrace.

He had previously won the race as a raw teenager in 1996 off a liberal mark of 160 metres. This time he rode off a much tighter 40 m, but had some help from fellow backmarkers Mark Jamieson, Gareth Atkins and Wes Sulzberger. Jamieson in particular did a great turn of speed to get the backies up onto the wheels of the front markers, who were led by promising youngsters Ben Laskey, Will Robinson, Alex Lyons and Aaron Jones, four riders who are just breaking into senior ranks.

In a tight sprint to the line, Cutting won from Sulzberger, with fellow Devonport riders John Rayner and Jarrod Harman the next two home. Cutting also won the Keirin final, but Gareth Atkins had revenge in the A Grade Scratch over 20 laps, winning from Cutting and Jamieson.

In the opening race, the 1000 m Lightning Handicap, Ben Laskey scored an impressive debut win ahead of comeback rider Jamie Perry and Will Robinson.

In women's racing, the undoubted star on the track was first year rider Laura McCaughey, who scored a clean sweep, winning the George Town Wheelrace, Lightning Handicap, Elimination and Scratch races - an impressive day out to say the least.

George Town Wheelraces were held for all junior age groups also with wins coming from Matthew Kent (J1), Peter Loft (J2) and Nathan Hinkley (J3).

The George Town Carnival was the first of the Tasmanian summer with the next event scheduled for Devonport on December 12.

Prior to that, however, the third and final round of the Tooheys Tasmanian criterium Championships will be held at Ulverstone next Saturday (Dec. 11).

And the Mersey Valley - Devonport and Latrobe cycling clubs will stage pre-Christmas Trial Wheelraces on December 14 and 21 respectively.

The hugely successful Basslink Tasmanian Christmas Carnivals will start on Boxing Day at Latrobe and will include races at Launceston (Dec. 28), Devonport (Dec. 29-30) and Burnie (Jan. 1).

More information can be found on the Sports Carnivals Association of Tasmania website, www.tascarnivals.com


Scott Dustan Memorial George Town Wheelrace
1 Daniel Cutting (40)                    2.24
2 Wes Sulzberger (80)
3 John Rayner (110)
4 Jarrod Harman (100)
Open Lightning Handicap
1 Ben Laskey (85)                        1.09
2 Jamie Perry (85)
3 Will Robinson (70)
4 Paul Wilson (80)
1 Daniel Cutting                           13.28 (last 200 m)
2 Gareth Atkins
3 Matthew Atkins
4 Wes Sulzberger
5 Mark Jamieson
6 Will Robinson
A Grade Scratch
1 Gareth Atkins                         10.13
2 Daniel Cutting
3 Mark Jamieson
4 Wes Sulzberger
B Grade Scratch
1 Jamie Perry                            6.27
2 Will Robinson 
3 Aaron Jones
4 Ben Laskey
Women's George Town Wheelrace
1 Laura McCaughey (30)                   2.44
2 Grace Sulzberger (30)
3 Tarrisha Jones (70)
4 Bethany Coleman (120)
Women's Lightning Handicap
1 Laura McCaughey (15)                   1.21
2 Tarrisha Jones (35)
3 Sarah Eaves (60)
4 Grace Sulzberger (15)
Women's A Grade Elimination
1 Laura McCaughey
2 Grace Sulzberger
3 Bethany Coleman
4 Kailee Goodwin
Women's B Grade Elimination
1 Sarah Eaves
2 Tiffany Manion
3 Lauralee Sharman
4 Melissa Barnes
Women's A Grade Scratch
1 Laura McCaughey                        5.45
2 Grace Sulzberger
3 Tarrisha Jones
4 Carrie Price
Women's B Grade Scratch
1 Sarah Eaves                            6.23
2 Lauralee Sharman
3 Alitta Laskey
4 Melissa Barnes
Junior 1 George Town Wheelrace
1 Matthew Kent (140)                     2.38
2 Mitch Stewart (90)
3 Lennon Duncombe (100)
4 Tom Robinson (scr)
Junior 2 George Town Wheelrace
1 Peter Loft (10)                        2.59
2 Luke Ockerby (100)
3 Sam Brett (80)
4 Ryan Mather (90)
Junior 3 George Town Wheelrace
1 Nathan Hinkley (120)                   1.29
2 Cailtin Smithurst (160)
3 Liam Ockerby (150)
4 Andrew Hinkley (170)
Junior 1 Lightning Handicap
1 Mitch Stewart (45)                     1.09
2 Lennon Duncombe (50)
3 Daniel Jamieson (scr)
4 Matthew Kent (70)
Junor 2 Lightning Handicap
1 Karissa Ling (75)                      1.25
2 Luke Ockerby (50)
3 Sam Brett (40)
4 Matt Laskey (45)
Junior 3 Lightning Handicap
1 Nathan Hinkley (120)                   1.30
2 Caitlin Smithurst (160)
3 Andrew Hinkley (170)
4 John Stride (180)
Junior 1 Scratch
1 Daniel Jamieson                        5.08
2 Clay Murfett
3 Alex Holden
4 Lennon Duncombe
Junior 2 A  Grade Scratch
1 Andrew Smith                           2.58
2 Ed Robinson
3 Peter Loft
4 David Lyons
Junior 2 B Grade Scratch
1 Luke Ockerby
2 emma Smith
3 Karissa Ling
4 Jason Bounday
Junior 3 Scratch
1 Jake Laskey
2 Stephen Heppel
3 Kodey West
4 Liam Ockerby

Local results 2004