Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Friday Night Winter Track Racing #14

Dunc Grey Velodrome, Sydney, August 29, 2003

Racers a bit too keen on week 14

By Paul Craft

Maybe there was a full moon or maybe Mars being so close to Earth had something to do with it, because last Friday, the commissar was working over time giving warnings to riders for erratic or overly aggressive riding. FNWTR has always been a highly competitive event but we have managed to maintain an amazingly friendly atmosphere. I hope the fun essence of winter track racing continues over the final four meets.

The racing itself was spectacular with there being too many outstanding races to comment on in this brief report. The feature race for the night was the Nokian Tyre 1km wheelrace for woman. A smaller field of 9 riders spread over 145m took to the boards for the prize round. Coming into the final Straight Vanessa Hamilton (new to track racing) was trying to get every once of speed out of her bike and tiring body. Unfortunately it was not to be, with Ruth Oxlade powering to beat Vanessa by half a wheel. Tanya Bosch rode well to complete the podium but a special mention must go out to Rebecca Ellis.


Warm up scratch race winners
Subs: Ben Grant
Jnr: Bede Kelly
Div 1: Shaun Hopkins
Div 2: Matthew Pettit
Div 2b: Geoff Worthington
Div3+W: Deena Faulkner
Group H'Cap Div 1
1 Brett Johnston (110m)
2 Chris Guilan (110m)
3 Matthew Pettit (110m)
Group H'Cap Div 2
1 Brad Craft (110m)
2 Stuart Lane (110m)
3 Dan O'Callaghan (110m)
Group H'Cap Div 2B+3
1 Andrew Grant (Scratch)
2 Jeff Smith (Scratch)
3 Trevor Wait (Scratch)
Nokian 1km Wheel Race Woman
1 Ruth Oxlade (130m)
2 Vanessa Hamilton (145m)
3 Tanya Bosch (110m)
4 Rebecca Ellis (scratch)
Miss'N'Out div1
1 Shaun Hopkins
2 Kevin Aubrey
3 David Short
Miss'N'Out div2
1 Michael Mellish
2 Jim Gray
3 Ross Harding
Miss'N'Out div2
1 Andrew Grant
2 Jason Frazer
3 Kelly Furey
Miss'N'Out div3+ Wom
1 Deena Faulkner
2 Terry Scarr
3 Trevor Wait
Teams Race Div 1
1 Team 1 Hopkins
2 Team 2 McFarlane
Teams Race Div 2
1 Team 2 Gray
2 Team 1 Mellish
Teams Race Div 2B
1 Team 2 Frazer
2 Team 1 Grant
Teams Race Div3+Wom
1 Team 2 Faulkner
2 Team 1 Bosch
Div1+Div2 Combine Scratch
1 Alex Sommers (35laps )
2 Grant Law
3 Jim Gray
Div2b+Div3+wom Combine Scratch
1 Jeff Smith (20laps )
2 Mark Burges
3 Kieren Brown 

Previous Results from Australia